Petlife logo

Bronx the Hero

Speak When it Matters

By Mary HaynesPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
5
Bronx the Hero
Photo by Kev Costello on Unsplash

Hi, I’m Bronx, the boxer. I’m a quiet and well behaved dog, and yes, I can talk. I try to keep my gift to myself. Humans chat to us all the time but I don’t think they really want us to talk back.

Sam comes home every day and tells me about his day. I listen intently, my big brown eyes shine with excitement or glisten with tears depending on Sam’s day.

When Sam comes home too many days in a row, frustrated by his job and struggling to make sense of his life, I throw my toys at him until he smiles. Then I grab my leash and shake it until he reluctantly takes me for a walk. I know that fresh air and a brisk walk help clear his head, so I keep him moving. We were just about to head back home, over the bridge, when I alerted Sam to the car floating in the river under the bridge. A section of the bridge had been knocked out where the car went through.

Sam looked down and saw a woman’s face in the car window, her eyes were wide with panic. He reached for his phone but he’d left it at home.

By Marvelous Raphael on Unsplash

He looked at me and said, “Bronx, I need you to go get help, understand?”

I put my paw up in a salute and said, “I’m on it, Sam!”

He looked shocked but he had no time to respond. He dove off of the bridge and swam to the sinking car.

I took off and ran as fast as I could to the busy street where I knew the police in patrol cars keep watch. I approached and put my paws up on the window.

The officer rolled down the window slightly and said, “Hello there pup, you want a bite of my sandwich?”

I shook my head and said, “No, officer, I need your help. A car crashed through the bridge and into the river. There’s a woman trapped inside. I need a rescue team STAT!”

The officer dropped his sandwich and rolled up the window. I smacked the window hard with my paw and them jumped up on the hood. I did my best pointer impression showing them the way.

The other officer said, “George, I think we should call a rescue team. This talking dog seems pretty serious about it.”

Officer George made the call then opened the door for me to get inside the cruiser. Officer Dillon introduced himself and shook my paw.

By Gianandrea Villa on Unsplash

When we got to the bridge, I jumped out. I could see Sam pulling on the door handle trying to open it. Officer Dillon grabbed a glass breaker out of the glove box. He took off his gun belt and shoes and jumped off the bridge. He communicated to Sam to get the woman to stay on Sam’s side of the car. He went to the other side and smashed the window. The vapour lock was broken and Sam opened the door to free the woman, but she tried to get back into the car. Officer Dillon, pulled her back and motioned to Sam to hold on to her.

The officer went back to the car and saw a Yorkie in a little car seat. He freed the little dog and held it above his head as he tread water with just his legs.

A helicopter appeared overhead and a basket was lowered down. Sam helped the paramedic secure the woman in the basket which was lifted smoothly into the helicopter.

Officer Dillon gave the dog to Sam and told him to take the dog up with him. Eventually they were all safely evacuated to the hospital.

By Neil Mark Thomas on Unsplash

Sam found me later at the precinct, entertaining the boys in blue with my favourite police dog jokes. He was holding the yorkie in his arms.

He said, “Bronx, you’re a hero! And you’re still talking. I’m so confused!”

I looked at the yorkie and said, “Hello there, I’m Bronx. What’s your name?”

The little dog squirmed out of Sam’s arms and replied, “My names Ella, and you’re my hero! I’ll make sure Julie gives you a big reward when she gets out of the hospital.” She kissed me on the nose.

Officer George shook his head. “So can all dogs talk or just you two!”

I answered, “Well technically all animals can talk, but most choose not to. Quite frankly, you humans are talking heads, the animal kingdom wouldn’t have any peace if you guys insisted on conversing non stop. And most animals have only good things to say. Well, except cats, grumbly things, and they curse like sailors.”

The stunned humans just stared and nodded, quiet for once.

Sam put my leash on, then led us out of the station. We chatted all the way home.

Julie was released from hospital and a taxi stopped in front of our bungalow. When Ella saw Julie she jumped into her arms and licked her face. Julie pulled out a new stuffed dog toy and a big old smoked dog bone for me.

Numbers were exchanged and a date for the dog park was made.

Hmmmm, could this be the end of Sam’s blues? It was far to early to predict but Ella and I will certainly be working on it.

By Anna Nesterova on Unsplash

fact or fiction
5

About the Creator

Mary Haynes

Mary Haynes splits her time between a romantic old sailboat in tropical waters and a beach home in Ontario. A wanderer, by fate, she embraces wherever she roams! Mary recently completed her first children’s book, “Who Ate My Peppers?”

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Harmony Kentabout a year ago

    A cute and heartwarming story, Mary! Love it 💕🙂

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    What a heartwarming and exciting story! It's always great to read about animals using their unique abilities to help humans in need. Bronx is truly a hero, and it's amazing to see how he and Ella were able to communicate and work together.💓💗💖

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    This is great! I love the concept of a talking hero dog, Bronx!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.