Petlife logo

A Spooky Story

How I found and rescued our family cat, Spooky

By Megan Rae LedyitPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Image of our family cat Spooky (April, 3/2021)

Late last summer, I was over at my best friend's house out in the middle of nowhere. This location is in the middle of farm fields and nothing as far as the eye can see, except for corn crop fields nearby. My family and I were visiting because we were planning our wedding in November 2020. My best friend was helping me plan out the wedding. She was also supposed to be my maid of honor, which did not end up working out in the end. So late that night, while we were planning the wedding, we decided to take a quote-on-quote, "Spooky," break by playing with the app called "Randonautica."

For those of you who do not know the application called Randonautica, I will explain. It is a random location generator based on your mind's intentions and heart for where you want to go. You can choose a theme, a place, an idea, really anything. I honestly do not think the app gives you a location based on your intention, but that makes the game fun. So that night, I decided to set the intention for something spooky or paranormal.

I am taking a wild guess that it was 2:00 AM in the morning because we were up for a very long time, and it was dark outside. I remember I had to beg my friend to play this game with me, even if it was only one location we went to. Finally, we agreed to play for a little bit while my fiancé stayed home with the kiddos. We got the app to work, followed the steps, and received our location, which was 5 minutes away from us in the middle of the corn crop field close by. Honestly, it does not get any scary than that for us.

My friend and I got our shoes on, grabbed the truck keys, and set out on our short journey. While we were driving, we continued to talk about what we might see. Maybe a ghost would spook us, or perhaps someone would come running out of the field at us. Once we arrived at our location, we went off the road to see where the site would take us. We did not go to the exact location, but we got close. A little too close for comfort because we were already really freaked out.

After exploring the area for a little bit, we both agreed to turn back to the road. As we were going back, we both tried scaring each other by randomly screaming. This was both scary but also entirely hilarious for us. Finally, we get back to the road, and as we are about to continue to drive back to my friend's house. I see a tiny kitten appear from the ditch of the road. He looked terrified and was meowing at us for help. So, I yelled at my friend to stop, and I said, "there is a kitten in the ditch!" I remember my friend kept yelling, " Where? I don't see!" Once she saw him, we both got out of the truck, and this little kitten instantly ran up to me.

Once he was close enough for me to grab him, I scooped him up and snuggled him instantly. This kitten started purring, and he meowed the entire way back to my friend's house. While we were heading back home, I examined him because he was tiny and looked very sick. We later learned from the vet he had a respiratory infection, ear mites, internal worms, and he was small because he was extremely malnourished.

From that day forward, my fiancé and I decided to adopt him and call him "Spooky." Over a month and a half, he ate a lot of food and grew extremely fast. We gave him lots of love and care, and oh my! The vet bills were so expensive, but we did it anyway. He is now an immensely lovable, sweet, adorable, and handsome cat. The best rescue we could have ever been spooked by!

cat

About the Creator

Megan Rae Ledyit

Hi, I am Megan Rae Ledyit; A professional hula-hoop dance instructor and entertainer. Take a look around at my blogs and see what interests you! A lot of what I have to share are personal experiences from my life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Megan Rae LedyitWritten by Megan Rae Ledyit

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.