Petlife logo

A late Christmas present

The returned become the found

By Artist For SanityPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Sakura

Every person knows of all the cute stories about the puppies or kittens wrapped nicely up for Christmas morning. For many this is the greatest holiday treat. Giant smiles are found on every child who receives a new animal as a gift. Normally the kid or kids have begged for months before hand. Maybe they saw the tiny kitten at the store or a cute new dog at a friend or families house. Whatever the reasoning there has been hundreds of pleases and promises by the children prior to the actual gift giving. New parents often make the mistake though that the child that still can't tie their laces or get themselves off to school, will take care of their own baby.

As a mother I remember the beginning years of raising my son. He himself was his own version of a puppy. Throwing eggs and flour everywhere every time he got near the fridge, coloring all over the walls. With any dog that wasn't use to pulling and tugging being a danger to him (which wasn't the dogs fault, it's one hell of a surprise to get some hair ripped out) It's not until a child is around the age of 8 that they can even make a bowl of cereal without making a milk ocean on the floor. So it's not a big surprise that even with the best of intentions, every year thousands of dogs and kittens are brought to rescues shortly after the holiday season. Parents with three jobs to feed the house hold, children with little league and then there is school, home work these days can start as early as kindergarten. No one ever really calculates all the time and effort the animal will need. So to start this story off I will state if you plan on getting a dog (or any animal) because your children asked for one, make sure you plan on taking care of its necessities. Much like diapers are often the last thought when having a baby. Things like potty training are not the first thing everyone thinks of when getting a new family member.

Next my best recommendation is to wait until after the holidays, most specifically when searching for a rescue. See everyone is looking for a perfect puppy or kitten during the holidays. Which means you may find that the kennels are actual barren. If you have a big enough home you might find interest in saving every animal you find, but most often (especially with children and no farm) you will want to get to know the dog first and only have room for one new friend. If there is only one dog left that does not like kids, it might not be the best choice for a family home. Any how though the animals you will find a couple of months after the holidays will most likely not be a tiny puppy or kitten anymore. They will of already started to have their own personality. Much more of the animals character will show threw within those first couple of months of age, instead of just the wonderful lure of puppy or kitten smells (much like new born baby smell that has been known to cause the crazed baby fever ). Judging a book by its cover it not the way I would personally recommend finding yourself or family a pet.

When I started the search for my rescue, all I knew was that I wanted a big breed of dog. Something like a giant teddy bear to both be of service to me and my son (He has T.O. and I have a autoimmune disorder) and protect us. It was important to me that during an emergence she or he could carry us if need be. While also being a cuddly comforting pall to help easy any anxiety either one of us might have. The first couple of kennels I went to had little to no options when it came to dogs. Tens of cats and some kittens, even some bunnies but the dogs were often no where to be found.

Finally there was a rescue shelter in another town that seemed to of all at once received many puppers. Racing to get there was a under statement I was so excited to finally get the chance to meet some dogs. My son had been asking for years for his own dog but had often received fish instead. (The job I had at the time was a 40-80 hour toll, so him being ready to help raise them was a must. ) He had very much so showed his work ethic towards school work, keeping his room clean and other house hold chores. Plus though my job took up much of my time it was pet friendly. So I would be able to bring them in during potty training. At this point I was sure he didn't think there was a chance he was ever getting a dog though because Christmas had past.

The first day he was out of the house once I had found the place I rushed out to the rescue center with the hopes that some dogs would still be left. It was very hard not to of told him where I would be going that day but I still wanted that big smile that would come with the surprise. I proceeded to meet many dogs. There was a husky and golden retriever that I spent much time with. One big fluffy mutt tried to tackle me on my way out with one of the dogs for a meet and greet that I had interest in but was originally told was being viewed by another family, so I went about the meeting the husky and retriever.

As the day was ending I walked back down the sad prison like holdings one more time. Many dogs were sweet but had not had the right disposition for a 11 year old. Then I glanced back in the cage that I knew had once held the fluffy dog and she was back in there. The other family had decided she weighed too much and was far to big for there house hold, I was ecstatic. Reading threw her paper work she had the classic Christmas puppy story, her old owners had gotten her when she was still just a little puppy and as she grew they fit her less. With their kids far to young to of helped with her raising, nor big enough to handle when her 90 pounds of dog decided to jump up.

Sakura was now ours (she was born in April so I thought it a perfect name since that is when the cherry blossoms bloom) during her first couple of months she gained many other nick names. Sock's being the first one, because she had a serious addiction to stealing socks and chewing holes into the. The other being fluffy cow because besides being fluffy, as she has grown, spots have appeared on her coat making he look like a classic dairy cow. She did take some time to train because her old owners had no time to of done so. She also has a tiny bit of anxiety of her own, though we don't know if that is from being caged at the rescue or the prior owners.

All in all I will always recommend left over Christmas pups, she is a little bull headed but a wonder to have. She loves digging (though she isn't allowed to in the summer) in the winter time once the snow gets deep she has a blast making tunnels and pits to roll around in. Sakura often sleeps on her back with her arm under her head. A human in dog fur (laughs to self) though she thinks about eating out of the trash far more often then I ever have or hope to in my life.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Artist For Sanity

"Writing is a passion I do not think one can ever forget and I never have. Much like the groves I love, I love the rows of books in a library, each growing minds like something that can happen only with time." -AFS

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.