Petlife logo

A Journey of Intention Discovered through Horses - Part 4 - (supplement)

Supplemental Material

By KJ AartilaPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 8 min read
1
Blu and Me

My daily schedule for August 15 – September 15, 2021

This is a supplement to A Journey of Intention Discovered through Horses

It is a 30 day journal of how I spent my time working my way back to mental and physical health, and preparing myself and my horses to continue our journeys. This is just a start. It begins with very simple entries, just committing myself to do the things I knew I needed to prioritize in order to move forward. I think it shows a distinct turning point of intently going through the motions, to becoming actually engaged and motivated. I think I will continue this. It keeps me motivated to keep doing better, and it shows me where I’m at. I do intend to make it more organized, though!

My weekdays usually start between 4:30 - 5:00 in the morning; toward the earlier side when I need to get up to make breakfast, toward the latter when I don’t. (Now that school is back to virtual, I sleep in to 6 or 6:30.) I get up, take care of brushing/flossing/mouthwashing my teeth. Drink a glass of water, feed the dog, make BF, drink coffee. My coffee is now decaf. I am not anti-caffeine, I just got tired of caffeine withdrawals when I didn’t have it, so I just stopped drinking it. I don’t want my mood and energy to be dictated by whether or not I have a cup of coffee. Like it says “Drink me or you’re going to have bad headache and a bad day.” I don’t think so. I quit about 2.5 years ago now.

Weekends are about the same, they just start later, like around 7:00 or so. That’s about as late as I can sleep in now that I’m older and in bed before 9:00pm most days. Plus I have aches and pains and a full bladder telling me to get up!

Water: I have been slack on drinking the recommended amount of water throughout the day. According to Dr. Tom O’Bryan in the “Autoimmune Fix” that should be about ½ ounce per 1 pound of bodyweight. I should be drinking about 65-70 ounces/day – I’ve fallen short. Better than before, but still far short. I have a 40 oz thermos – I commit to consuming the water I should over the next month! That’s about 1 and ¾ of my thermos per day.

Walking: I walk most days. Only about ½ mile at a time so far, but my focus is on maintaining correct ambulation instead of distance. It makes a difference as far as maintaining balance and strength. It enhances muscle memory. I enjoy it! Especially in this Fall weather.

Yoga: I started working on adding Yoga more consistently in a daily routine. I have worked on Yoga in the past, but inconsistently. Even then, I experienced good results. I knew I wanted to focus on practicing it again, but I wanted an updated understanding and routine. I don’t have access to Yogis where I live, so I chose a book that I thought would help me progress. So far, I think it’s a good decision. I have read the book, and find it inspiring in the information and philosophy provided. I have started learning one of the routines which I think is most beneficial to me right now. I am learning about breathing, some initial warm-ups and poses for stretching, body awareness and strength. I have incorporated only a few things thus far, as I learn and practice, but already it feels good. I feel benefits mentally and physically. I am very encouraged to experience the benefits of getting through the whole routine on a regular basis.

Daily Schedule:

Day 1: August 15 (Sunday) – walk – finished Blu article/submitted

Day 2: August 16 (Monday) – walk – horse - 45 min - finished story/submitted

Day 3: August 17 (Tuesday) – teeth - walk – horse - 15 min – dishes/vacuum/dinner - promoted story/grow Twitter

Day 4: August 18 (Wednesday) – teeth - walk – horse = 10 min - dishes/dinner promo stories/website/Twitter

Day 5: August 19 (Thursday) – write - horse - walk

Day 6: August 20 (Friday) - write - horse – walk

Day 7: August 21 (Saturday) – write - horse - walk

Day 8: August 22 (Sunday) - write - horse - walk

Day 9: August 23 (Monday) – writing - started Yoga – Cassidy school orientation – walked school a lot to find locker

Day 10: August 24 (Tuesday) – writing – wine – new stove delivered

Day 11: August 25 (Wednesday) – Blu – 20 min bucket walk yoga finished & submitted story - wine

Day 12: August 26 (Thursday) – Greek yogurt w/blueberries & walnuts -salad – chips w/homemade salsa – cashews – cheese curds – bourbon – promo stories & do reads

Day 13: August 27 (Friday) – 3 organic scrambled eggs & cheese curds – yoga – wine – sausages & veggies grilled

Day 14: August 28 (Saturday) – 2 GF toast w/but & apple jelly, nectarine, cheese curds – Cassidy VB tourney, then golf/drinks/dinner with friends – chef salad w/grilled chix breast – no croutons/no dressing – wine/bloody mary/bourbon

Day 15: August 29 (Sunday) – walk – 30 secs horse time (arena too mucky/wet) cheese curds – nectarine – Fritos – kettle chips – 3 bean salad w/corn – grilled veggies

Day 16: August 30 (Monday) – Finally! The air is cooling, humidity is dropping – I’m feeling an urge to get back to riding again! What’s that I’m feeling? Optimism? -- 2 slices cheese – 2 GF toast w/butter – cheese sandwich GF bread w/mustard – kettle chips – 2 homegrown apples – grilled chix breast/squash/bean salad – wine & bourbon – walk – 20 mins horse - yoga

Day 17: August 31 (Tuesday) – 3 eggs scrambled – yoga – grilled chix breast & wing – 3 slices cheese – apple - 20+min horses – grilled California burgers on GF bun w/chips & three bean salad

Day 18: Sept. 1 (Wednesday) – First day of school! Stove not hooked up yet – 2 GF toast w/butter & apple jelly (homemade) – Cali burger – chips – cashews – yoga – writing – Blu=5 mins – grilled corn/grilled sweet potato/Greek salad – wine – it was so beautiful outside! We enjoyed an evening with a couple of drinks by the campfire!

Day 19: Sept. 2 (Thursday) – 2 GF toast w/butter & apple jelly – corn tortilla shells and cheese slices – burger w/cheese no bun & salad – apple – orange – grilled chix thighs & corn on the cob – yoga – feeling the urge to trail ride my horse!

Day 20: Sept. 3 (Friday) – 2 GF toast w/butter & apple jelly – walk – 2 burgers w/cheese & Greek salad – cashews - potato chips – wine – VB game – stopped by high school FB game

Day 21: Sept 4 (Saturday) – orange – 2 slices GF bread w/moz. Cheese – cashews – sausage potato soup w/GF croutons – watermelon - bourbon --Stove finally hooked up!

Day 22: Sept 5 (Sunday) – orange – scrambled eggs w/ sausage & bacon – sausage potato soup – nectarine – turkey burger nachos

Day 23: Sept 6 (Monday) – LABOR DAY – 2 GF toast w/butter & apple jelly – cheese curds – watermelon – turkey burger nachos – chix breasts and corn on grill w/cole slaw - 15 min Blu - writing

Day 23: Sept 7 (Tuesday) – baked apple/cinn oatmeal – chix breast – cheese curds – writing – yoga – orange – cashews – veni chili w/GF bread

I had a nice Holiday weekend, but healthwise, did poorly – no walks, no yoga, and really no horse time! Too much booze and fatty food – ok – enough of that – getting myself back inline now!

Day 24: Sept 8 (Wednesday) – baked apple/cinn oatmeal – fritos – veni chili w/GF bread – yoga – cheese curds – turkey meatloaf & roasted veggies

Day 25: Sept 9 (Thursday) – steel cut oatmeal w/flax & berries & walnuts & real maple syrup & cinnamon – turkey meatloaf & veggies – grilled turkey breast w/parm salad – cheese curds – wine

Day 26: Sept 10 (Friday) – Steel cut oatmeal w/flax, berries – turkey & cole slaw – apple sauce – 25 min horse time – processed apple sauce - wine

Day 27: Sept 11 (Saturday) – VB tourny - CANCELED for COVID – now school back ti virtual - Steel cut oats – GF pizza - wine

Day 29: Sept 12 (Sunday) – turkey/mushroom skillet scramble – Leftover GF pizza – nectarine – orange – grapes – apple sauce - veni roast and baked potato chips – brandy – processed apple sauce & spicy relish

Day 30: Sept 13 (Monday) – orange – turkey/mushroom egg scramble – venison roast – nectarine – cashews – GF noodles – yoga – potato fritters, tomato sauce, faux refry beans – walk - brandy

Day 31: Sept 14 (Tuesday) – grapes – potato fritter – cashews – oregano fried chicken w/potatoes & salad – slow cooker refried beans & tortilla chips

Day 32: Sept 15 (Wednesday) - rolled oats, flax, cinnamon, maple syrup, raisins – 3 oz.s chix breast – veggie/turkey burger/tomato soup & GF croutons – cashews - cheese

Beginning Monday, September 20, Tom and I will start our strict 3 week autoimmune reset diet again. That leaves this week for preparing – I want to develop a meal plan for the next 3 weeks so I can order the foods that I think we’ll need; much of it is not available where we are – our options here are limited. We have done this several times before, and try very diligently to sustain a gluten free diet currently, but we’re still learning. We’ve also cut out most dairy and sugar, but those things have crept back in on a very limited basis, but still, it’s time to detox those again! For the next installment, I will include my daily dietary menu.

I hope you find this material informative. I do for myself just by writing it down!

horse
1

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.