Petlife logo

A Journey of Intention Discovered through Horses - Part 4

Back to Blu and Me

By KJ AartilaPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Blu and Me

We had heavy rain overnight (Monday) – over 1.5” – so my arena is a muddy mess today, and probably tomorrow. Really strong wind and rain Thursday & Thursday night.

Okay, it’s now Friday. – the weather is still uncooperative, so I will have to reuse photos since I want to get this out – new photos will have to wait until the next installment.

My intention over the last month has been to work on my own mental and physical health, as well as developing my bond with Blu through ground work. I have developed a method to continue my own wellness, and I will also continue working with Blu on the ground, as well as mounted. We have made some progress which is encouraging, but I would like to see much more. (You can view a daily journal of my efforts here. if you're interested.)

Blu and I did a lot of groundwork. I was seated on my bucket, she was at liberty in the arena. We have made some progress, but there is a ton more to address from the ground. She is learning quite nicely to come when called, learning to step around me and place herself where asked, and back-up on cue. She is finally showing some signs of relaxation in her face and her actions, but she still prefers to walk away and ignore me when she doesn’t want to comply. The good news is that I can tell by her efforts to ignore me, she is actually very aware of my presence and what I’m asking. I can work with that. I plan to get back on her this month, but also continue with a large amount of ground exercises.

Through this groundwork with Blu and often two of my other horses included. I have been able to recognize more personality quirks and behaviors that I was missing in traditional interactions. This work allows me to focus and concentrate on my own interactions with them, my energy, and how they react to an ask. I’m learning the best ways to ask for, and reward, the actions that I want to see. This is an individual experience to each horse. Even moreso than I realized initially. I want to build on that.

My energy is important. They react differently to me depending on if I’m tense or relaxed. This gives me the chance to focus on my breath and body language. It comes through in the way the respond to my touch. Am I being soft enough? What is my touch transmitting?

When I work with all three horses together, their personalities and status within their small herd is obvious. Staar is the oldest, and most dominant, of the group. He is a gelding. He likes to stand with his head over me if I let him, or at least as close as possible, to guard what he thinks is his space. He is learning to back off and share space. Blu prefers to stand behind me and nuzzle my shoulder. She is learning to step in front of me and allow her face t be touched. She hasn’t cared much for her face to be touched, but is becoming much more accepting of it as she relaxes. I can feel some of the tension leaving her lips as she lowers her head, and we can even exchange a few gentle blows of communication from my mouth to her nostrils! Derby is my youngest gelding, and of the lowest ranking in the group. He loves to be a part of it, but if he feels too much hostility from the other horses around him, he is likely to just wander off and do his own thing.

I am anxious to get back up and ride, but I am also motivated to continue on this path of groundwork at liberty. I’m learning so much!

horse
1

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.