Petlife logo

A Journey of Intention Discovered through Horses - Part 3

The struggle is real.

By KJ AartilaPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
3

This is going to take a turn that I didn’t quite see coming.

A confession – I really am struggling, mentally and physically. Is it hormones? A side affect of this Ataxia? Depression? Exhaustion? Burn out? Overwhelm? Humidity? Diet and exercise? I don’t know. Probably a combination – a cycle of negativity. When this humidity breaks, maybe that in itself, will be enough to increase my positive energy flow. Right now, this humidity feels like a wet blanket draped over my head – everything appears heavy and dark. It’s stifling.

What I do know is that I need to do something about it, and I can. So here’s what I have decided to do: in order to get where I want to go, I need to take a step back, I need to readjust. I am not quitting, I am choosing a different approach. I think now it seems I need to start from a different place than where I initially thought. I am going to step back and spend time with Blu on more ground work and not ridden work for now. I hope to be getting back on by the next installment in a month, but right now, my focus will be on getting my mental and physical health back to where I want them to be, as well as building a stronger bond with Blu through continued Liberty work.

Mentally I am tired of this feeling of apathy, this lack of motivation. I enjoy being around my horses. I think I am trying to push too hard to move forward while having skipped part of the foundation. I need to re-evaluate, do what feels right, adjust and continue. What I have been trying to do is not quite “right.” I’m missing something. I think that’s where the idea of “backing off to move forward” comes in.

Physically, there seems to be so much that plays into this whole “off” feeling. I haven’t been taking the time to take good care of myself, which leads to bad feelings about myself, which leads to even worse self-care. I know what I need to do, I just need to commit myself to doing it now, no matter how I feel in the moment. I know from experience that following through on self-care habits leads to feeling better, and continuing to develop better habits. I will set up a schedule. It’s easier for me to stay on track when I have schedule to follow.

Bonding with my horse creates an advantage though developing trust and confidence. I will do this by working with Blu at liberty while sitting on my bucket with treats. I will have no rope to depend on for making her do as I ask. She is going to have to want to – and my responsibility is to find the inspiration that will make her want to. So far we have attempted just a few sessions. She is a bit aloof. Her attention is constantly shifted from me. My goal is to figure out how to maintain her focus on me. This could be a serious challenge, and a test of my patience, but the breakthrough will be amazing! I wonder if I can find an Equine Massage routine to help this along?

Being in the presence of horses is healing in itself. I want to approach them in a way that they can feel connection and trust through my touch; my intention. My goal is to convey a loving kindness that Blu can appreciate and respect, while I always approach her with an open heart. I will set clear goals and a schedule to follow for the next month, then re-evaluate again.

Find Part 1 here.

Find Part 2 here.

horse
3

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.