Petlife logo

A Journey of Intention Discovered through Horses

Problems and Solutions

By KJ AartilaPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
6

Part 2

Fifty percent of finding a solution is in first defining the problem. Without correctly defining what the problem might be, there is not a chance in Hell it will be solved!

So what are our “problems” to solve?

I get easily fatigued, therefore, I do what I need to conserve my energy as much as possible. I am an independent person, some have called me stubborn, but basically I like to do things on my own, and I’m terrible about asking for help. I find people unreliable, anyway. Often, they want to help, but on their own terms. That’s fine, but I don’t have the patience for that, so I work hard to find my own solutions.

There is the saddle issue. Saddles are heavy and difficult to carry around. Besides that, I haven’t been happy with the fit of any that I’ve tried on any of my horses, and I have never been really comfortable with the restrictive girth around the chest or belly, so I have chosen to go bareback. This solves a number of issues, but it does involve learning a lot of new skills. Not an easy choice, I suppose, but simple, I guess. You always have a choice. This one is going to take time.

I also wish to improve my overall health and strength, as well as building up Blu's strength.

Where Do We Begin?

First, I want to address that no matter how slow, progress is still progress. We’re still moving forward, and that’s progress. Due to the heat and oppressive humidity and an unexpected, somewhat less-than serious event that took me a couple of days from which to recover (you can learn about it here if you like) ), our riding and training time together has been limited this month, but I am happy with our slowly achieved progress! So let’s get on with it.

Secondly, by looking at the pictures of myself astride Blu, I notice my long, skinny legs, along with my weak arms. My limbs all need work on strength and position, I definitely need to work on core strength for a better seat and balance, and I need to build Blu’s topline so that she can carry me more comfortably.

Here’s what I want to try for myself in order to address strength, flexibility and balance. I intend to add in more yoga (which I have done and have experienced success, though I have practiced inconsistently), targeted strength building exercises, and walks.

I also wish to address diet. So far we do a gluten-free diet as a family (you can learn more about our experience with that here ). I also want to balance protein, water intake and fiber. This is to address and support my health and strength. I will share more details about all of this in future installments.

Here are my stats as of now: Height = 5'7.5" inches, weight = 132.0 lbs as of this morning, waist = 31.0”, hips = 37.0”, thighs: right = 20” left = 19.5”, arms: right=11.0” left = 10.5”. The number on the scale does not concern me near as much as the weakness and sagginess of my body! And the asymmetry from my right and left sides. Utilizing the above mentioned strategies, it is my intention to improve all of these numbers in order to become a more fit person and better rider.

For Blu, I have begun to introduce Liberty Exercises to help build strength. I have also added protein to her diet in the form of alfalfa pellets on top of her grain mix, flax supplements and good quality grass/timothy mix hay. She is also exposed to a limited amount of grazing. This is intended to support muscle/topline development.

Blu stands 14.3+ hh, just shy of 15.0 hh.

Looking forward to a more productive month ahead!

To read the first installment of our journey together, click here!

You can also visit us at Aartila Arabians!

horse
6

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.