Petlife logo

5 Lessons I Learned From Lucy - A Disabled Cat

Story Of Special Rescue of Cat Named "Lucy" - She Taught Me 5 Powerful Lessons

By Mr BrownPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Lucy A Disabled Cat Taught Me 5 Lessons

I had the privilege of rescuing, feeding, and rehabilitating a courageous little paralyzed kitten named Lucy for four months. Lucy was admitted to a DC-area shelter in poor health when she was just a few weeks old. She weighed just one pound and had no use of her back legs, tail, or bladder at the moment.

She was terrified and confused. I didn't know what to think when I saw Lucy dragging her legs behind her in her shelter kennel other than, "We've got to help her, right?" I brought Lucy home that day and immediately set out to do everything within my capacity to change her life.

I had no idea that not just her life would be changed. Raising Lucy was a life-changing experience for me, and she taught me life lessons I never expected a kitten to teach.

Lucy was recently accepted into a special, beautiful forever family, but the lessons she taught me will live with me forever:

We Actually Survive Cos of Hope

Lucy faced adversity and was unlikely to succeed: she was orphaned at a young age, suffered a severe spinal injury, and was housed in a high-volume animal shelter. It's quick to ignore her as hopeless. Despite these, challenges she is alive today because of those who did not give up on her. Her inspiration was Hope.

The shelter workers protected her for two days in the hopes that she will be rescued. I wouldn't wait for medical care for her until I find providers that took a friendly and hopeful approach toward her. My partner and I raised her with love, unknown whether she'd ever find a home for a cat in her condition, but we never lost hope.

Lucy's main theme was hope, and now all of her desires have come true: she's a healthy, secure cat who has been adopted by a family who genuinely loves her. Hope rescued her soul.

Acceptance Is Good Medicine

Lucy taught me that being different is acceptable and that possessing physical disabilities does not have to be a disappointment. I struggled too hard to get Lucy to walk again for the first several months, and it wasn't until she'd been to more than 30 doctor's appointments that I realized what she really needed most of all—to be known for who she really is.

Lucy is completely ignorant that she is disabled, and the only unfortunate aspect of her situation is that too many consider she is unhappy. She is, in fact, one of the happiest animals I've ever seen.

Our relationship became much more peaceful, and even enjoyable when I stopped denying that she has a lifelong disability and instead of accepting her for who she really is. Lucy taught me that paralyzed cats don't really need sympathy; rather, they require motivation. She is completely perfect in her own self.

There Are Many Ways To Have Fun

Happiness and pleasure, as it turns out, are subjective experiences that can take various forms which are based on the individual.

Lucy's desire to transform and make her own entertainment has pleasantly surprised me. She starts moving about the house on two feet, hunting for and carrying little mouse toys in her mouth.

She will climb a cat tree with her paws and lie or sit o at the top with her legs hanging off the back. She can play with other foster kittens, potentially compete with them, and enjoy their company.

Sure, she stands oddly with her legs sprawled in front of her, and she's bad at keep hiding (she's always found sleeping with her legs sticking out from under a blanket or sofa), but it only adds to her admiration. Lucy does her thing, and she does so with her own distinct style.

When We're Brave Together, We're Much Braver.

It takes courage and determination to carry on a disabled pet. We must be positive, optimistic, hopeful, and committed to the process, in addition to anything we want the animal to be.

Lucy was trustful and confident the whole time, even though she was going to painful treatments or meeting new doctors. Her strength always encouraged me to be better and to respect her optimism with my own.

Being bold helps us to develop our talents by forcing us to leave our comfort zone and discover our true potential. Lucy and I have discovered that we are both very capable of accomplishing wonderful things on this journey.

Empathy Is A Wonderful Gift

Empathy usually begins as we envision ourselves in someone else's shoes, and I've had to imagine myself in Lucy's shoes in order to change her life.

Caring for a disabled cat encourages empathy in ways that I can only actually explain.

I simply assume that most cats will jump up to a comfortable spot on the sofa to asleep or get themselves climbing stairs. But, by imagining myself in Lucy's shoes, I began to see the difficulties she would experience as a result of these actions, and it helped me become a greater supporter for her.

As a result, I set up deep comfortable beds, stair runners, and bedside steps for her. I purchased her toys that are suitable for her body shape. I was always imagining what it would be like in her body so that I could make things easier for her.

We are not only stronger caretakers when we show compassion; we are also honored with love and gratitude. It's a wonderful blessing to be able to interact with another to be in this way.

cat
Like

About the Creator

Mr Brown

I am SEO Writer On Marketing, Relationships, Current Affairs, and Love. I Have Contribution In Many Popular websites.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.