Motivation logo

You waste your time doing what you're good at

You waste your time doing what you're good at

By Ruban SaundersPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

A young girl born after 1995 who just entered our company said to me with a blank face, "I am so confused and anxious, what should I do? I'm afraid I'll still be like this when I'm 30. I can't get out of it or get out of it."

I asked her, "Do you like what you're doing?"

She thought for a moment and said, "I don't like it, I don't dislike it."

"What do you usually do after work?" 'I asked her.

"Watch movies, browse online malls, brush microblogs, chat with friends on WeChat... It's boring to do it every day."

I advised her, "If you don't want to be lost, don't waste your time doing all these things. Waste your time doing what you're good at. Don't tell me you're good at talking and shopping. I mean good at something that will set you up in your thirties."

"But I don't know what I'm good at." The little girl looked puzzled.

I took a piece of paper, and a pen and handed them to her. It's very simple. You write down the strengths and weaknesses of your personality and all the things you are interested in on the paper.

The girl took the paper and pen and thought hard. Finally, she told me very seriously that she liked watching movies and paying attention to entertainment news. As for her special skills! When you go to school, you can write a composition, but you did not insist on it after graduation, almost deserted.

I told her, "Since you love movies, follow entertainment news, and are good at writing, you should watch a movie every day after work and write a 1,500-word review. If there's any big entertainment news of the day, write your opinion on it. Try it for a year."

The girl said to me with some doubts, "Sister, there are so many people writing film reviews, and I have wasted my writing. I must have no chance!"

I sighed. "Don't deny yourself before you've even started. You can think more about how you should do it and how you can stick to it. You're only 21. After seven years, you could be a very good film critic. By the time you're 30, getting out of poverty is so easy!"

When I was 21 years old, I was also very confused and anxious, worried that I would not be able to stand at 30 and give my children and parents a good life guarantee. I often toss and turn in the dead of night, unable to sleep, wondering where I was going from here.

Because of anxiety and confusion, I have been to many cities and changed many jobs in the four years since graduation. Every day after work, in addition to talking to my friends about my confusion, am in the QQ space to hurt spring sad autumn and write down their loneliness and helplessness.

Finally, when I was 25, I figured out that what I was good at was writing. So I got a job as an editor and wrote about my mood after work every day.

Every time I post a microblog and talk about the word Zhen sentence, I take every voice as an opportunity to practice writing and seriously write down my life feeling. I also registered an account on a well-known literature website and arranged the words and phrases I usually saw and heard into articles. Gradually, my articles were repeatedly recommended.

Then I became a stay-at-home mom, and I wasted all my time outside of the kids reading books and writing articles. Two years later, I realized my book dream was ahead of schedule.

After listening to my story, the girl asked me, as long as I work hard and insist as I do, I can realize my dream, right?

I nodded and shook my head again. Hard work and persistence are important, but it's more important to do what you love and are good at.

There was a popular article on the Internet called "Who are you in the Next Seven Years?" To master a skill and become an expert, takes 10,000 hours of non-stop practice. It takes seven years for a person to master this skill if they practice five hours a day, 300 days a year.

Liu Liu also mentioned this theory in her Weibo post, saying that she became a writer after seven years of hard work.

However, I think it's just as important to choose the right direction to work in as it is to stick to it day after day, year after year.

In a recent interview, Liu said that when we were born, we came with a homework bag -- I call it a homework bag: everyone has his chosen function. But a lot of people, they may never find out where this homework bag is.

The reason why most people are confused or anxious is not lazy, nor do they know the meaning of persistence, but they can't find their homework bag, so they blindly work hard, and make themselves exhausted. Only by digging into your potential talent, finding this homework package, and doing what you love and are good at, can you get twice the result with half the effort.

If you are young and confused and anxious about why you are working so hard and still not living a good life, then maybe you should calm down and seriously think about where your interests and talents are, and then waste time on those things that you are good at, believing that life will surely live up to your every effort.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Ruban Saunders

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.