Motivation logo

You Told Me To Stop Posting On Social Media

Here’s What I Did Next, Helga...

By Alexis Dean Jr.Published 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

DISCLAIMER: As you begin to feel like you’re entering into another cliché post thanking the “haters” for motivation, I ask you to focus more on my response, rather than the people I may never make happy. If hate is the sole reason why we’re driven, then we will miss out on the ones who are sharing love. Invite love into your heart, and you will realize happiness can inspire you more than darkness.

Day 31:

So, let’s rewind back years before 2020, to the day I was told in a comment that I should “put my camera down” and “not take so many pictures of stuff.” We will name this person “Helga.”

Not nice, Helga.

Of course, it was on a post on the always friendly Facebook. AND of course, being an empathetic emotional Pisces, I immediately felt hurt. But, it wasn’t just the comment that stuck. I can usually take online criticism. It was the fact that the comment was pointed towards something that I’m passionate about in my life.

Pictures...

Day 64:

Pictures can tell a story without the use of words. They can hold onto a moment, and bring out emotion that was once forgotten or suppressed. A picture can also be a reminder that you are alive, and you are here. My love for photography is different than a casual selfie or a properly angled picture of a plate of puffy waffles. Though those things have their spaces and own brilliant forms of art, I’m passionate about capturing myself doing things that make me feel an emotion I don’t want to forget (sometimes involving a picture of a plate of puffy waffles).

I also spend my life capturing photos that one day I can share with my children, so they can know who I am and who I was in life if I can’t tell them myself.

Like my dad couldn’t for me...

Day 241:

After my father passed away, I was given back my yellow Tasmanian Devil photo-book that was left in his house. Inside the photo book of maybe 50-60 pages, was about five pages filled of pictures of him.

Five.

I remember flipping through the book as a little boy, wishing that I had so much more. Wishing I could flip through a book on nights I felt lonely and sad, and tell a long true story to myself about my dad’s short life.

And I couldn’t.

As much as I wanted, I couldn’t. So, as years went on and on, I feared losing memories of my dad and everything I knew about him.

Day 331:

Now, as we run fiercely from my childhood, we fast forward to the day I read Helga’s Facebook comment.

My dad, my pictures, my future children.

It’s all connected. Granted, lovely Helga didn’t know my personal reasoning behind my picture taking. No one did, until now. But, we have to be careful when we judge people for their usage of social media and picture taking. Especially if it’s doing no harm to you. Social media and pictures don’t always have to be aligned with avoidance. It’s possible shunning someone’s usage can be getting in the way of how a person is choosing to finally release their emotions, Helga.

There are people who spread joy, share smiles, document their transformations, connect with others, and literally look back to see who they once were in life. We all are on different journeys. There’s a way to share your moments and experience the moment you’re in, while still being fully engaged. So, allow yourself to be mindful before ripping out a kid’s headphones, telling people that their dance videos are annoying, and more.

Helga.

These are often ways people are using their time to heal, grow, and learn. Also, to connect with others. Social media is a tool. Many of its users have inspired me...

My most recent journey with photography involved deleting a social media page I felt was more about what my followers wanted, and less about what I needed. I decided to create a page that began with me taking at least one picture a day for 365 days.

Every day I would post something I learned, and a glimpse of what that day taught me. I started off playful and small. Quickly, I went deeper. I learned that there wasn’t always pretty days, and it wasn’t always a day I smiled. I can now go back to that year and see that I moved to a new city, I visited my little brother in prison and rapped a song I wrote for him, our family dog passed away, I met a ton of amazing kids and families, volunteered for 75+ events for others, admitted my pain and loneliness, received some awards, cried a lot, smiled a ton, and grew as a person.

Instagram became my digital open journal, and connected me with so many organizations and people I love. Most importantly, I started to feel and stopped ignoring. Another personal decision was to “Follow” people and organizations that really inspired me. Like, @SundaySangat for meditation and spiritual guidance and @4BarFriday for my love of Hip-Hop...

To be continued...

Many people are doing positive things in their own way, and they are helping others just by telling their stories however they want. I challenge you to be mindful about what you are doing and consuming throughout your days, and to be a bit more open minded if you are conflicted about social media. It’s alright to have your opinions about it, while still allowing others to be themselves. Someone’s camera may be the thing that’s giving them life. If you decide to do IG Live every day, have fun! If you decide to start a YouTube channel talking about the beauty of baby hedgehogs, please do that and share me your links...

Be safe, be careful, be free, and be unafraid to be you. The world needs more honesty shared, and more positive knowledge given. I support you on your journey of self awareness, and I hope you support me one day.

Even you, Helga.

Like Katerina says below, “feel the feels.” And express yourself...

I invite you to follow @CupFullOfSoul and @SundaySangat on Instagram, if you are looking for some form of community and spirtual support now and forever. Times are currently hard for many, but even when we come out of this their advice will still be valuable.

Evolve, friends...

social media
Like

About the Creator

Alexis Dean Jr.

Alexis “L.E.X” Dean Jr. is a clean Hip-Hop artist, poet, and educator from Milwaukee, WI. As a writer and music artist, he focuses on the importance of educating through his words and stories...

IG: @DreamsStartYoung

DreamsStartYoung.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.