Motivation logo

You are OK right where you are

Give yourself a little credit

By Valérie RowePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
You are OK right where you are
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Ironically, the only way out of being where you currently are is accepting that you are exactly where you are. Have you ever tried to plan when you are utterly frustrated by the situation that you’re in? Usually, we tend to get even more sucked into the fact that what we want is far out of reach and never come with a solution.

This is the case with me. There are so many things that I want in my life, and it feels like they are so far out of reach. Then, I start hating on my current circumstances and that doesn’t make my life any easier.

Here is what makes life easier: list the things you can say you’re proud of for accomplishing. It does not have to be grandiose. When we think about accomplishments, we often think that they need to be major. An accomplishment can be smiling at a stranger on the side of the street even though that’s hard for you because you’re living with social anxiety. If you think you have nothing to proud of, I invite you to investigate a bit further. Did you get out of bed this morning even though you felt like crap? Did you read a chapter of that self-help book you’ve had lying in your room for so long?

We all have things we can be proud of. We also all have things we can be grateful for. Believe it or not, gratitude is the fastest way to living the life you want to live. Why? Because when you feel grateful, you start to realize that you have many more resources available to you than you previously thought. When you feel grateful, you are more pleasant to be around, and people want to do things for you. When you feel grateful, you open a portal that leads you to your desired outcome.

This is all only if you can accept your current circumstances. I told you, it’s ironic and it doesn’t make any sense. But I can guarantee you that the moment you accept where you are is the moment solutions will come to you. Now, I’m not talking about huge overnight successes. As much as we want to believe in these stories, they do not exist (or at least are very scarce). I guarantee you that any “overnight success” you can think about has actually been working at it for a long time before their apparent “overnight success”. Do a little bit of digging. You might be surprised.

This is not meant in any way to discourage you. This is meant to empower you. This is meant to allow yourself to be who you are right now and appreciate what you have so that when you are ready, you can expand into the version of yourself you’ve been dreaming about.

You will be guided, one step at a time, towards what you are meant to do. The same is true if you are unsure of what you even want to become. Just knowing that you want something different for yourself and the willingness to see differently is enough. Willingness is key. Willingness is what will unlock your greatest potential.

Willingness to love yourself for who you are right now is they ultimate key to your freedom. Quit nitpicking every little flaw you have. They are what make you YOU. They are beautiful.

I’d love to give a shout-out the person who sent me a $1 tip on Vocal. I haven’t written in months and you gave me courage. Thank you.

If you've made it this far, I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart. I am grateful that you are here. If you feel called to, I invite you to give my article a heart, share and/or a tip to support my growth as a writer. You can also check out my other articles posted here. Sending you lots of love and light.

-Val

success
1

About the Creator

Valérie Rowe

A compassionate thought leader figuring things out one day at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.