Motivation logo

You are Important

Anyone who tells you differently is not really your friend.

By Kyri MartinezPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
You are Important
Photo by You X Ventures on Unsplash

Stand Up for Yourself

If someone ever tells you that you are not important, please let it go in one ear and out the other. No one should ever make you feel small and unimportant. It is important to surround yourself with people who make you feel important and loved. If someone comes up to you and is making you feel horrible, STAND UP FOR YOURSELF! I cannot stress this enough. Ladies and Gentlemen, let me tell you that I am the most non confrontational person you will ever meet. For years, I would let people make fun of me and get away with it because I didn't want to say anything to them. I didn't want to get into a fight or anything of the sort. I wanted people to like me and that was all I cared about.

When you let people speak down to you and talk to you in a condescending way, you are teaching them how to treat you and they won't ever realize that they are doing wrong. If they do realize it and they are still treating you like this, they need to be aware and you can go up to them and simply say, "Hey, I don't like the way you are speaking to me right now. While we are different, please respect our differences instead of being rude or disrespectful." That is a simple way to put a stop to it. Does everyone stop because you told them to? No, unfortunately they do not.

The best motto that anyone has ever had is, "Treat others the way you want to be treated." Even if you are standing up for yourself, there is no reason for you to do it rudely. At that point, you would be stooping to their level and letting them change your wonderful personality.

If someone doesn't like you, learn to accept that. Not everyone in this world is going to like you. Trust me, I had to learn that the hard way by trying to get everyone to like me. I would tell myself, "If I could just do this, then maybe they would like me." I would apologize for absolutely everything and to this day, I am still guilty of doing that.

By Hannah Busing on Unsplash

Your Opinion Matters

Do not ever be afraid to speak up. I think sometimes (myself included) we can all be our own worst critics. Did you know that sometimes people only say rude things to you because they are jealous of you and believe that if they tear you down, they will feel better about themselves? Does it make it any better that they are doing that? No, but maybe if you kill them with kindness, it could have the possibility of transforming into a beautiful friendship. You would be surprised what one small act of kindness can do.

Your opinion matters and you can make a difference if you share it! Did you know that numerous brilliant ideas are never spoken because someone was too afraid to speak up in fear of being rejected? You could have one of those ideas, but because you didn't want to hear someone say no, you didn't take the chance. Take every opportunity you have to speak out. Even if you make a difference in just one person's life, that matters and is important.

Did you know that I used to be someone who never spoke up? The person who was always in the background, that was me. Sometimes, my friends would say the exact same thing I was going to say, but because I didn't want to be embarrassed, I held my tongue. Words are powerful. Use them wisely and don't be afraid to speak up for what you believe in. Believe it or not, your idea or opinion could change a person's life.

By Juan Camilo Navia on Unsplash

Share Your Ideas Everywhere

So, you weren't that person's cup of tea? Guess what? There is an entire social media world where you can share your ideas. There is this wonderful thing called a blog where you can publish those ideas. Each idea could mean something different to each person so share it. Sharing is caring. If you share your personal experiences, you could give someone the confidence to get out of a bad situation. A little confidence goes a long way and you have the power to do that. Who cares if you might not be the greatest writer? Did you know that there are many websites that help you out with editing? You got this! You can do it! You can do whatever you put your mind to. Embrace your thoughts. Don't toss them away because one person told you they were not "good enough." Even if no one else wants to read those thoughts, I do. I want to hear about your day. I want to hear those amazing ideas that you thought no one would care about. You are important and you can make a difference.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Kyri Martinez

Kyri Martinez is a 26 year old blogger seeking to relate to readers about life experiences, job hunting, politics, marriage, etc.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.