Motivation logo

Writing Inspiration

Quotes that I use to let myself be inspired to write

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 2 years ago • 5 min read
Like
Writing Inspiration
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I tend to try and inspire myself to write quite in small ways. Some days just suck. Writer's block can be difficult to overcome. I know most writers happen to struggle with it. Over the years, I have grown very fond of writing quotes. Words can hold so much power and I have always been obsessed with the way they flowed off my tongue. You can either gently caress someone or cut them like a knife. I like to tell myself that I own my story. I own every little thing that has happened to me. And I do not enjoy feeling the pressures of writer's block.

Here is my small list of thirty different writing quotes for your enjoyment and own inspiration.

  1. "You own everything that happened to you. Tell your stories. If people wanted you to write warmly about them, they should have behaved better.” by Anne Lamott
  2. “You can always edit a bad page. You can’t edit a blank page.” by Jodi Picoult
  3. "Write what should not be forgotten." by Isabel Allende
  4. "The world belongs to those who read." By Rick Holland
  5. "Fairy tales are more than true: Not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten." by Neil Gaiman
  6. "Write what disturbs you, what you fear, what you have not been willing to speak about. Be willing to be split open." by Natalie Goldenburg
  7. "What people are ashamed about, usually makes a pretty good story." by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  8. “I like writing, but I like a lot of things. Maybe out of those things, I'm best at writing. Maybe it's what I like best of all. Maybe it's where I've always felt most at home. Or maybe the writing part of me is over. Maybe there's something else I'm supposed to do instead. I don't know.” by Jennifer Niven
  9. "Write hard and clear about what hurts." by Ernest Hemmingway
  10. “There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.” by Maya Angelou
  11. "I think new writers are too worried that it has all been said before. Sure it has, but not by you." by Asha Dornfest
  12. “Writing isn't about making money, getting famous, getting dates, getting laid, or making friends. In the end, it's about enriching the lives of those who will read your work, and enriching your own life, as well. It's about getting up, getting well, and getting over. Getting happy, okay? Getting happy.” by Stephen King
  13. “You can always edit a bad page. You can’t edit a blank page.” by Jodi Picoult
  14. "I went for years not finishing anything. Because, of course, when you finish something you can be judged." by Erica Jong
  15. “If there's a book that you want to read, but it hasn't been written yet, then you must write it.” by Toni Morrison
  16. "You only fail if you stop writing." by Ray Bradbury
  17. “Start writing, no matter what. The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on.” by Louis L’Amour
  18. "I can shake off everything as I write; my sorrows disappear, my courage is reborn." by Anne Frank
  19. "You can make anything by writing." by C.S. Lewis
  20. “A professional writer is an amateur who didn’t quit.” by Richard Bach
  21. “Writing is the only thing that, when I do it, I don’t feel I should be doing something else.” by Gloria Steinem
  22. "If there's a book that you want to read, but it hasn't been written yet, then you must write it." by Toni Morrison
  23. "Words are our most inexhaustible source of magic." by J. K. Rowling
  24. "The story must strike a nerve — in me. My heart should start pounding when I hear the first line in my head. I start trembling at the risk." by Susan Sontag
  25. "A poem is never finished, only abandoned." by Paul Valery
  26. "Show up, show up, show up, and after a while the muse shows up, too." by Isabel Allende
  27. "I want my stories to move people… to feel some kind of reward from the writing." by Alice Munroe
  28. “You don’t start out writing good stuff. You start out writing crap and thinking it’s good stuff, and then gradually you get better at it. That’s why I say one of the most valuable traits is persistence.” by Octavia E. Butler
  29. “I believe myself that a good writer doesn’t really need to be told anything except to keep at it.” by Chinua Achebe
  30. “People say, ‘What advice do you have for people who want to be writers?’ I say, they don’t really need advice, they know they want to be writers, and they’re gonna do it. Those people who know that they really want to do this and are cut out for it, they know it.” by R.L. Stine

Because I know I was inspired by the authors on this list, I decided to share it with my fellow Vocal creators. Inside of everyone is a story that is dying to be told. I like to keep that thought very near and dear to my heart as I write my words out on paper. It takes courage to write with your heart out on your sleeve. When I am locked inside writer's block, I search for inspiration through other measures. Journalling and written quotes, are there for a reason. Nobody became great without first being broken and rejected. A lot of these authors are ones that have greatly inspired me throughout the years with their stories. I really hope you enjoyed my writing inspiration list as much as I enjoyed composing this list for my fellow writers and authors.

Chloe Rose Violet

Don't worry about tipping, I did put a lot of thought into this post but it's meant to inspire others, not meant for money.

Just leave a heart and subscribe. :)

advice
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Š 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.