Motivation logo

Word Power

All about you

By Amy NaymonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have been fascinated by words all my life. Whether it is a funny word or a phrase, there are some that just catch my eye and melt my heart. I didn’t understand my love for what we use daily. Why was I so obsessed? What was it about these wonderful things that made me so happy?

I found out that I am a logophile. Yes, there is a name for it! A lover of words. I am. Not all words, though. I don’t like the word moist or pop for soda. I am very particular with my words and phrases. I’m not so obvious as to love the word onomatopoeia. To be honest, I had to look up the spelling. It just seems a little pretentious to me.

I do love the words serendipity, cadence, lilt, fierce and oh so many more! Sometimes it is because of the meaning behind the word, but sometimes it is also how the word sounds. I’ve struck gold when the word sounds nice and has a good meaning.

Now what do my words have to do with a hobby? When I read magazines or newspapers, there are times that certain words or phrases will catch my eye. Sometimes I will relate them to myself or to people I know. I will take my scissors out and cut the words out ever so carefully because I don’t want to harm the print that makes up that beautiful word. Sometimes I will save old magazines up for a rainy day and sit down on the floor with my pile of magazines and scissors so that I can lovingly cut each word or phrase out gently. I’ll make sure that the edges are even and precise.

After saving several of these words or phrases, I’ll get a canvas and paint it. You could do a plain white canvas. But I don’t want a boring canvas so I make sure to do it in a color or pattern that I will like. Then I will delicately glue those snips of paper onto the canvas in a pattern that I find pleasing to the eye. Because I get the words from various print media, I have different styles of type and colors and it looks like this patchwork of some of my favorite things. It gives that feeling of a sense of comfort because it represents me completely. The colors, the words, the canvas are all positive representations of me.

I have used these boards to be descriptive of myself and people I know. I have also used them as a vision board of the life I desire. No pictures needed. My words create the picture in my mind. When I create these boards for myself and others, it is a way to express positivity and share my feelings creatively.

I sometimes use a smaller canvas so that I can put magnets on the back of the canvas and put it on the fridge so that I will make sure to see it daily. I have also put them in the bathroom as positive self-talk to start the day off right.

I have found that this is one of the most relaxing hobbies that is not only fun but is good for the environment because I’m recycling the magazines. And I am using the creative part of my brain to make something beautiful that is also beneficial for me.

I know that I am in the minority with my love of words and phrases, but it is something that combines my love of arts and crafts with words to make something that I find useful and pretty. If you haven’t thought of doing this before, do it! You’ll love it.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Amy Naymon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.