Motivation logo

Why Is It Really Important To Invest Time In Yourself?

Why Is It Really Important To Invest Time In Yourself?

By EfulPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
2
Why Is It Really Important To Invest Time In Yourself?
Photo by Benjamin Davies on Unsplash

"Take time for yourself every day."

~ Dalai Lama

Much more than 10 years ago, I spent one month at a Buddhist meditation center in the Colorado mountains, fantastic knowledge. To get to the temple from our residential camps, a forest path was laid, full of the most beautiful birch trees that I have ever seen in my life. I usually walked this route alone. On one of the working days, the wind blew with passion, forcing the birches to sway in unison, from side to side, imitating the swing of a ballet and creating a cacophony of beautiful music. I found a cut tree trunk that served as a makeshift chair, so I sat down. I was so absorbed from the second: the sound rang in my ears, the wind hit my experience, and my heart was filled with such simple spiritual power - the understanding that my life could be okay. It was one of the most spiritually profound moments I have ever experienced, along with a decisive moment that convinced me that there was a much stronger and greater urge than myself: God.

As the Dalai Lama states, it is very important to take time for yourself every single day. I believe that spending time alone, like having, sleeping or breathing, can be a prerequisite for a healthier and happier life. When we are busy, we probably set aside time for ourselves as the last benefit, but as time goes by, without taking time for ourselves, we exhaust our thoughts, human body and soul, which leads to tension and illness. Despite our hectic lives, we can easily waste time on ourselves every day, even for 15 or 20 minutes.

By spending time alone, the very first and fastest gain we feel is a lot less stress. No matter how satisfied or unhappy each of us is, none of us is immune to the stress that can be a common denominator in becoming human and simply living. Spending time alone is a simple, quick, yet extremely powerful way to calm our thoughts and soul as we begin to de-stress and find peace. This allows us to look inside ourselves and reflect on the difficulties in our lives, seeing them from the outside, carefully evaluating and choosing the right solutions. When we don't spend time alone, our point of view gets clouded, which leads to more confusion and chaos. One time brings clarity and answers.

We are all constantly bombarded with white noise chatter from family, friends and modern society about how we should always live, all filtered through their unique prism lens. When all these white noises are preventing our internal radio from receiving transmissions, time itself can help discover it. Since almost every one of us has a special journey in this particular daily life, we must make choices based on our internal compass, so over time we will sift through all the white sounds leaving the truthful information. Through time and reflection, the fog begins to dissipate, making our daily life path crystal clear.

By Warren Wong on Unsplash

What is good about being alone for me is that it gives me a quiet room to pray and meditate to my sister Sunlight, my spiritual guardian. When I start to feel confused, empty, and in need of clarity in my life, I step back to be myself so I can pray to her. While group prayer and meditation are great, I find your own prayers and meditation to be the easiest, simply because I am less distracted. The decisions may seem wrong right away, but eventually, with peaceful prayer and meditation, the decisions become clearer and clearer.

Time alone also increases your awareness of the current moment, when you are experiencing, in fact, the most alive. Every time a race car driver is speeding two hundred miles an hour, or perhaps a skydiver is falling in the sky, they feel so alive simply because their consciousness is fully sharpened by focusing on the present moment, which is the essence of meditation. . In seclusion, we will meditate without distraction, so we train our mind to be in the current moment. Whenever we train people's intellectual muscles, we can find ourselves in almost any situation (not just silence) in the current moment, whether we are in a traffic jam on a website or in a war zone, the final word rests with us. look at our state of zen. So time alone trains our mind to turn any chaotic state into a peaceful state.

Needless to say, most of us will need to update ourselves. Time itself also rejuvenates our brain, body and soul in general, simply because it gives us a pause button to relax. While sleep is a great way to refresh ourselves, we still need to give our brains a rest while we're awake. By mentally working 16-18 hours a day right while we are awake, we worry too much, which then affects our body, causing diseases such as most cancers, coronary heart disease, and many others. . To maintain a fulfilling life, we must be able to renew our mind, body, and soul by spending time alone.

You can do any exercise alone that will bring you into a state of serenity and peace, which does not necessarily mean meditation or prayer in silence. It can be walking, hiking, canoeing, nature reserve reading, whatever suits you. My spouse finds time and peace in solitude when he flies in the desert or when he is in his "man cave", garage. After a fight, my husband always retires to his garage, where he finds quiet refuge and comfort.

The main benefit I get from paying for time myself is that I connect to my spirituality. I feel a spiritual connection not only through prayer and meditation, but also through walking, studying, and other things that I do on my own. As in the birch forest, in some cases I discover the greatest spirituality in the existence of Mother Mother Nature, because I can see and feel the perfection of what God has created for us. Nowadays, being in nature, I can develop and maintain my spirituality at an optimal level. I not only feel focused and grounded, but encouraged and comforted that my life will almost always be in order. In a situation of loneliness, my faith in higher abilities becomes stronger and deeper, so I live not in anxiety, but in admiration, and this happens after I feel that all moments in my daily life are probable, so for me, Time alone can be a very useful tool for living my best everyday life.

In solitude, we will seriously look inside and find ourselves, and that is after we actually feel much more connected to our relatives, friends and loved ones and, ultimately, to the world and universe in which we live. , you are definitely not alone simply because you are bathed in adoration - a feeling that we all would like to embrace every second of our lives!

Thank you So much for you to reading till the end, and please kindly to support me as you could, I would be appreciate it. Have a great day:D

self help
2

About the Creator

Eful

Hi there, I am Syaefullah Nur from Indonesia. I am reader and now I try to providing my best articles for you guys. Enjoy it;)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.