Motivation logo

Why I Only Set Goals Not Resolutions

Instead Of Resolutions Choose To Set Goals

By Amanda J MollettPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

If you have read any of my New Year’s articles. You know that I do not believe in New Year’s resolutions. New Year’s resolutions are for the weak. 9 times out of 10 a person will sit unrealistic New Year’s resolutions and then fail at them and then feel bad because they failed at them.

About 8 out of 10 times for women, one of the things on their list is to lose weight. To lose 10 pounds or 25 pounds. And most of the time they do not actually succeed at losing the weight they think they are going to lose. It is unrealistic to put that pressure on ourselves. However, I do believe in setting some goals.

Not necessarily for a new year. Or for a new me. Just something that I want to accomplish either that year or in 5 years. Or in 10 years, to make my life better. To make the lives of my family better.

I recently saw a pin on Pinterest, for poems, and journal prompt writings, where it suggests you think about writing about your goals. And here soon everybody is going to be thinking about their New Year’s resolutions.

But I want to challenge you to think about your lifetime goals, your long-term goals, not just your short-term goals. Not unrealistic resolutions that are short-term and something that you may fail, and then feel bad about.

Why depress yourself anymore if you fail? Why not make a list of something that you want to do for yourself? Why not make some New Year's resolutions that allow you to be available for yourself, not something such as," I want to lose twenty-five pounds? But something like I want to take time for me every day. Or I want to do something I have never done. Or I want to spend time with family.” I want to see more of those resolutions. Rather than resolutions about weight or eating healthier.

I do not want to see anybody feel bad about themselves this year just because they can not stick to a goal or because they set a resolution with which they can not comply. I want to see more people do good this year. So, I challenge you to try and make a list of things that you want to do for yourself. Things that you know you can do, something that makes you put aside time for yourself.

Let us not worry about little goals that do not mean much, let us worry about the goals that we can not live with out setting. The ones that make our lives better. Goals that make the lives of our families better. Let us start a new trend. Let us make goals that make ourselves feel better about ourselves, goals that let us enjoy our lives, not goals that stress us out, or make us feel like we are failures. We need to have better things in our lives.

Make a list to watch the movie Thor together, it might be to watch Miraculous Ladybug, a French anime that your daughter loves. Get more rest, get a full 8 or even 10 hours of sleep each night. Write a book, take a new course. What would you want to do? What would you put on your list? Make a list of things that you do not care if you fail. Things that are just for you, when you are ready to do them. Things that you do not have a time frame for. That way you do not feel bad about yourself if you fail. Remember, nobody needs to love you more than you do, so take some time to love yourself. And take care of yourself. If you do not take care of yourself, who will?

goals
Like

About the Creator

Amanda J Mollett

First, and foremost I am a mom…always . I am a proud mom of a graduate & artist. I am a author/writer and a journalist. I have multiple certificates in journalism and various writing certificates such as novel writing and creative writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.