Motivation logo

Why I entered 22 Poems in the Across the Room Challenge

…Besides the fact that I love writing poetry

By Julie LacksonenPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
10
careerteachers.co.uk

The common claim for lotteries is, "You can't win if you don't play." With this in mind, I decided to enter every Vocal challenge that works for me. I've also heard that lotteries are taxes for people who are bad at math. But, with Vocal, at least the numbers are less daunting, and writers are in control of the quality of their entries. Great content increases the chances of a win.

Since poems are usually shorter and are so subjective, I wanted to write lots of them - with varying forms and sentiments to boost my likelihood of being a finalist. I settled on 22 poems to match the year. Feel free to read (or re-read) as many or as few as you like.

I started by clicking on my "Poets" tab on my profile. Thank you, Vocal for that option! I found six poems which fit the challenge with very little editing.

This is the first poem I wrote on Vocal. You may be able to tell these are song lyrics, with a set rhythm.

This poem was also written around the same time, with no rhyming, nor discernable meter.

The following month, I wrote this touching love poem:

Then, this steamy one came next. I think I wrote it because I feel like I am solar powered, having moved from Minnesota to Arizona to find more sun.

In the next month, I wrote this poem about blossoming love:

I spent a couple of months focusing on fiction for the Summer Fiction Challenge. Then, I wrote this humorous piece, which I'm hoping will catch judges' eyes because it's so different.

The rest of my Across the Room poems were written specifically for this challenge. My first was another attempt at something other than the gushy, mushy stuff of which the judges will be reading thousands.

Then, I joined the bandwagon and wrote a lovey-dovey poem. It would have been a challenge indeed to enter 22 love poems without some amount of sugary sweetness.

My next was another humorous piece. I hope this give you a chuckle.

I chose to set one poem at a masquerade party. When I found this lovely photo, I changed a few words to make it a perfect fit.

This next poem reflects the importance of confidence:

My next poem, set at a wedding reception, has a reverse Florence Nightingale effect, in which the rescued falls in love rather than the rescuer.

I wrote this poem, which made me think of the song by The Who, so I linked it. Enjoy!

I had fun creating triple rhymes for this poem. I also like that my character opened her/himself up for love after being hurt in the past.

I really enjoyed picturing this African American couple falling in love.

I had fun including some alliteration in this poem. Also, after reading one of judge Kirun Kapur's poems, in which she included a tiger (having seen a wild one,) I made my man a tiger on the prowl.

This poem has an every other line (BD) rhyme scheme and a sentimental, lasting love. It can't hurt that the model is drop-dead gorgeous!

I got on a roll, because my next one had the same rhyme scheme, but I added some humor here.

As a music teacher, this one was mine to tell. Although I play flute, I‘ve played as a soloist and in bands, rather than orchestras.

This is my favorite of my Across the Room poems. It's sensual without being smutty. I also played with similes.

This one came to me on Sunday. It's the story of an introvert discovering love.

My last poem is bittersweet.

I have enjoyed writing for this challenge. I hope the fact that I wrote a great variety of pieces means that readers will all find one that leaves a lasting impression.

Thank you for following this journey with me.

goals
10

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.