Motivation logo

Why Happiness Means Letting Go of the Life You Imagined

"Happiness releases what you think your life should look like and celebrates it with all that it is." ~ Mandy Hale

By S.KPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Why Happiness Means Letting Go of the Life You Imagined
Photo by Andreas Weiland on Unsplash

"Happiness releases what you think your life should look like and celebrates it with all that it is." ~ Mandy Hale

As a child, you think (with great pleasure!) The life you are determined to have as you grow older.

The life you should have.

We have expectations. There are many of them. Only the truth is not always consistent.

Life revolves around it, it changes its way to the creation of new ways, and then things happen that are not in line with the playbook arranged in our head.

Some of these things are good; some are not so good.

So how do you deal with it when something unexpected, unwanted, happens?

How do you react when you wake up and realize that your life is not what it used to be?

Understand that it is OK to grieve over the loss of a loved one.

Serious illness. Disability. Endless pain.

We all have situations in our lives that are wrong.

These are just a few of me.

I never thought I would find myself sometimes living in what I would describe as my own hell.

My life should not have been this way.

Many things I never thought of or wanted to happen in my life, yet they do and they have and are.

It can be hard to give up the life we ​​think we should have.

There is a sense of privilege, a feeling of “Why me? Why did this happen to me? Why can't I be / do / be what I want to be? ”

Whether you are living a life of luxury or material possessions, you have no choice but to hope for the future, knowing that it is safe to mourn the loss of a loved one.

Then back up to the horse.

There must be a time of acceptance.

When things go wrong, when we really fight the curveballs of life, it is all too easy to go down the road of despair and think that tomorrow will bring as much pain, great fatigue, as many limitations set, as today.

Feeling frustrated, angry, and disappointed with all the wrongness.

These feelings are normal when we experience difficulties, but they do not help to last long.

There must be a time of acceptance. Only then can we begin to move forward and find happiness.

I always have a chronic illness. There is more pain, fatigue, and limitations in my life than I thought possible.

It hurts to not be able to do all the things I could, or want to know but can't.

Yet, I still lead a very satisfying and happy life.

I am looking for ways to live well despite my chronic illness, to increase my health and to find my purpose, to find my happiness.

It comes down to the choices I make - evaluating treatment options, diet, and lifestyle and chronic disease control - to help me live beyond medical conditions that can easily define, easily limit, who I am and all I can be.

Expressing my feelings through writing, stimulating my body with nutritious food, working to the best of my ability, sitting outside in the sun - all add to helping me find my happiness.

Helping me to accept the reality of what it is and reduce crying, painful despair, for nothing.

Moving forward in the best way I can.

What are you holding on to right now that is holding you back? What joy can you miss when you cry over things that never happened? What can you do to enjoy today if you accept your reality and decide to do your best?

It brings the present beauty.

Learning to sit still can be one of the most difficult things to know.

I have times when I wish my life was different (without pain it would be a good start!); where I struggle to give up what “could be” and how life “should have been”

But if I spend all my time focusing on everything that is wrong with my life, then I would not be seeing the good that is still there.

Love and support from my family and friends.

Only personal growth (too much!) Can teach me.

Chronic illness has brought me to my knees but it has also led me to a campaign of self-awareness and improvement, survival, love and upliftment.

It has taught me to enjoy life in all its forms, a little sweetness and greatness.

Taking positive steps every day to create a healthier, happier life is key.

Focus on the good in your life because there is always something when we are ready to look hard enough.

Still don't seem to get the best of it? Ask yourself: Who was with me on this welcome trip? What have I learned about life or about this information? What opportunities are there for this challenge to renew or transform?

Also, get involved in doing good things in your life. Take a new hobby, pursue the things that are most important to you, learn a new skill or continue a day of coffee all week with your bestie so that there is little room for fun, and often hurt, with things you can change.

Celebrate your life with what you are now, warts and everything.

“Because we have only one life. We get one shot to make it worth living. We grabbed our rifle and ran to hell. ”~ J.A. Redmerski

Now is your time! What should you let go of in order to find happiness? What have you struggled to keep?

happiness
Like

About the Creator

S.K

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.