Motivation logo

When You're Having a Bad Day...

3 Minutes

By SEWI .Published 5 years ago 4 min read
Like
3 Minutes

I'm very dramatic, very impulsive, and I'm always ready to react to anything. So every time I had a bad day, I used to have terrible thoughts, I even thought about starting to take drugs (which is impossible because I can't even inhale a fag, never mind the rest, ahah) or running away and starting a new life (yes I'm that dramatic, but don't lie, we all do this).

Most times, my negative thoughts were the reason for my bad days. Instead of trying to turn the day round I used (sometimes I still do), I just let every little thing get to me. In this article, I will focus on events that cause a bad day leading you to feel negative.

A bad day can wipe out all your good moments within seconds, we're very quick to forget our blessings and it's very easy to focus on what's negative around us. The truth is focusing on one bad thing will lead you to think that a bad day is a bad life and may lead you into making bad decisions. Yes, life is short and you should enjoy every moment bla bla bla, but life's not easy and bad days are guaranteed to happen.

Thinking positively is the advice everybody gives, it is the best advice, to be honest, but it's so hard when you're going through a bad day. Our minds must constantly be filled with positive thoughts, for us to act positively when we need to. But despite that it is still hard sometimes, we don't have control over life events no matter how positive you are, we all have bad days and we all have moments where we can't think. Well, we can think... we just don't think properly!

I'm going to give you guys practical advice, that has helped me get over bad days, especially when I couldn't think properly... Maybe you will need a timer in the beginning but after a while, you will have a rough idea of time.

I hope it helps!

Something bad happened.

Someone said something.

  • Train yourself to take one minute to breathe every day. That one minute you take to breathe can get you back into control when you need to and ready to overcome your problem.
  • Close your eyes for one minute every day, this will teach you to block your thoughts, which tend to be negative in bad situations, before you react. Whilst doing this, don't speak, don't listen, don't think, and don't look. (Unless you're driving, please don't do this if you're driving.) You should have nothing but an empty head for one minute. The aim is to not think before you start thinking.
  • Hold both hands tight every day for one minute when something bad happens the first thing we tend to do is lose control. I find it that getting a grip of yourself makes you more aware of what's happening around you and gaining control before you react.
  • Repeat all three simultaneously every day.

These three minutes I take to myself every day have made a big difference to my bad days. Instead of rushing to ignore things, react, and make decisions, I now block everything for three minutes. Three minutes is not that long when you think of it, but I find that it can be vital in bad situations, in order to get you in control of your thoughts and actions before you react.

There will be moments that you will not have time to do this, but it's okay because your mind will be a lot more prepared! Our mind needs just as much exercise as our body! Even if you can't solve your problem, you will still save yourself a lot of stress and overthinking.

However, not every bad day can be saved, I find it that sometimes we need to accept what's happening to us before we can overcome our problems. The three minutes are not for you to ignore your problems, they're to prepare you to solve them.

Accept bad days the same way you accept your happy days, make it a lesson rather than a punishment, gain experience rather than disappointment. If you can't learn from bad experiences, they will more than likely happen again until you learn.

advice
Like

About the Creator

SEWI .

See Why.

Deceiving thoughts create a fake reality.

When you read my articles I hope you feel motivated, positive energies, inspired and hopefully have a laugh.

Culture & Society.

Mariahh Brian

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.