Motivation logo

What's your Happy?

What if we can always choose happy or not? Find your happy with some simple questions.

By Randa RayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
What's your Happy?
Photo by Hybrid on Unsplash

What's your happy, tell me what's your happy whoo!? (sings as she types in the style of Craig David ) But really what is your happy? Do we ever stop and ask our self this simple and in my point of view profound question? Probably every so often, most likely when we don't have our happy switch on.

Consider this for a moment, what if you woke everyday and started with something along the lines of this... What's my happy today? What can I be or do different that will bring me joy right away?

My happy shows up in many shapes, forms and ways. Here are some ways my happy shows up;

  • Being creative, performing on stage in front of audience,
  • walking in the countryside singing to the trees and plants when no one else is looking.
  • Sometimes getting spotted by dog walkers singing to the trees and plants on my own, that one makes very happy!
  • Receiving an unexpected thoughtful gift.
  • Netflix and chill plus ice cream in my pjs.
  • A warm embrace from a loved one
  • A knowing smile from a stranger on the underground
  • A funny story from my nan
  • Playing silly games with my three year old niece
  • A bloody good cup of tea!
  • Being ridiculous with a friend who never judges the werdio in you

How does your happy show up?

Now I have to make a confession to you. I’ve not always been this way. In fact, for many years through out my adolescence I wasn’t so ‘happy’. I couldn’t find my happy anywhere, I searched high and low literally without getting into the nitty gritty, get your sympathy tissues out for your issues. There was a time where I just felt sad and depressed to be frank.

My inner light was so low and dim, almost totally out. I simply felt like I couldn’t access joy or if I did it was so fleeting I thought what’s the point of it all?

I know life has it’s ups and downs and experiences can shape us and even break us. What if in the breaking we then rebuild, recreate into something much greater. I’ve had many experiences from grief and trauma that did break me however now I can say that even those horrible things that we don’t want look back on, were all a contribution and gift to find my true joy.

On my life adventure I realised I was highly aware of other peoples thoughts, feelings and emotions. My family, friends and dare I say it the world. If you are at all sensitive and highly emotional, consider this may be a great strength and capacity you have and not at all a weakness. What if the sadness was just an awareness and you didn’t have to make it rule your life or rob your joy? What if asking questions could change it all? Here are some questions I would love to share with you to help you find your happy? “If I was being truly me how much joy can I have right now?” “What else is possible that I’ve never even considered?’” My two favourite questions up next.. “What’s right about me that I’ve not been acknowledging?” “What am I grateful for about me?”

If you are going through sadness or depression, take if from someone who couldn’t get out of bed in the morning or crack a smile even at puppies and kittens or rainbows; you won’t alway feel that way. Your happiness will return and you are not wrong for feeling sad now. You are a gift to this world just by being here. Start with gratitude for you and even for the sad times because lasting joy shall prevail!

I have a challenge for you now, if you wish to accept... Every day for the next week- let's start easy, do one thing just for you, just for fun and just for happiness. Example; go outside when it’s raining a slash in a puddle, make a funny noise, write yourself a happy note.

It is my knowing that choosing happy is one of greatest contributions for yourself, your friends, your family and here I go again the WORLD!

No matter how hard things may appear always remember you and I can choose happy even for only a second or minute, an hour or day.

What will you choose?

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Randa Ray

I'm Randa, actor producer, writing here for tips :P

Thanks for reading, come say hi :D

Remember to leave a tip if you like what you read ;)

What else is possible?

https://linktr.ee/randa_ray

Insta Randa Ray

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.