Motivation logo

What Puts A Smile On My Face?

Spreading the love with some things that provide happiness

By Monique StarPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

In a world where the negatives are emphasized more often, we could all use a little something to lift our spirits up, even if it's only for a brief moment. Allow me to introduce you to some things that make me smile.

One of those things that makes me smile is an online personality by the name of Thomas Sanders. There are those out there who might think I'm referring to the content that tickles my funny bone, but I'm referring to something a little more. Even when the world is full of bigotry and division, Thomas Sanders provides proof that people who are open-minded and are actually willing to help people of multiple communities still exist. If you don't believe me, you can take a look at the videos he has made with his friends.

Just the way Thomas expresses his love and support for his diverse array of friends (as well as the community formed from the common love for him) proves that there can still be hope in the world. I can also understand that there might be some people who might claim that he has no idea what it’s like to struggle, so allow me to say this: he’s gay (and has tried to repress it in earlier years) and he had backlash thrown his way for supporting the ace community, so life is not exactly super easy for him or anybody. If you want more proof of how much love Thomas provides, then the proof is in the pudding known as Twitter (for one). Feel free to look into him if you want to see what I’m talking about and why a bunch of friends of mine enjoy what he does.

Another thing that makes me happy is the band Daughtry. I’ve enjoyed their music since I was in middle school and actually paid attention to the song “Life After You” (I’ve heard his songs before, but they were more background sounds). Unfortunately, Daughtry songs aren’t played on the radio as much as other popular songs, but I usually think of it as ”what they lack in quantity (how often their songs have been played), make up for in quality”. Daughtry is one of those bands that can play the type of music that can tell a story and be relatable to anyone who can interpret them differently. Although most songs in this era consist of clubbing and flirting, songs by Daughtry can really make you pay attention and speak to you. Case in point, one of their singles “As You Are” can reach so many people in so many communities. “As You Are“ can be the kind of song that can provide the “I love you” that certain people might need, yet not receive as much as they should. The lyrics may have been written by a strong woman coming to terms with her bisexuality, but music is in the ear of the beholder and Daughtry proves it once again.

Finally, if there’s one thing I want to bring attention to that makes me happy, it’s the Internet. Growing up, I used to just see it as a place where I can play games and then watch videos, but now I see it as a place that helps me create. Not only that, but as a person who struggles to speak from time to time and feels like the black sheep every now and then, the Internet has helped me to find different communities and ways for me to express myself. I have been able to make stories online, I have been able to make video and picture edits using the power of the Internet, I have found stories and comics online that intrigue me, and I’ve even been able to find a way to earn a little bit for writing a penny at a time.

Now, obviously, not everyone might think of everything the same way as I do, but maybe it can encourage you all to think these things over. And if they bring a smile to your face like they do to me and several others, well, I’m happy for you all.

happiness
2

About the Creator

Monique Star

I'm not the most sophisticated adult out there. I'm also not the best at communicating all the time, but I do try my best to get my thoughts out there into the world verbally or nonverbally.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.