Motivation logo

What Everyone Should Do In 2021

Putting Love First

By Cathryn DennisonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

It’s that time again. Time for the calendars to change. Time for everyone to start thinking about what they’ll change about themselves. Time for them to follow through with their resolutions...for about a week. Then, it’ll be time for them to throw out the list and/or put it off until next year.

That won’t be me. Not this year. For me, there’s only one thing on that list, and I won’t let myself ‘save it for next year’. There may not be a 'next year'. If 2020 has taught us anything, it’s that life is short, and we have to hold onto the connections that we have, the connections with those who make us feel alive, and we should treasure them for as long as we can.

We will never know what’ll happen next year or the year after that. Things could get worse or they could get better, or, maybe, they’ll just be different. Sometimes things have to change, and while that change isn’t always good or bad, adapting to change can be difficult.

So, no, I won’t put this off any longer. What I wish for, what I’ve been wishing for every year now since I can remember, I’m going to fight for. I’m not going to give up, because now, it’s too important. I’m going to throw all of the cards on the table because that’s what you do when you’re in love.

You show the person yourself, all of yourself, and share with them every story you have, every childhood photo, every precious memory, and every side of yourself, good and bad.

Then, you hope that they won’t turn away.

You hope that they’ll still hold your hand. You hope that they’ll still cuddle with you on the couch while watching your favorite movies or sing as freely as they do on a car ride with the windows down and the music blasting.

You hope that they’ll still give you that same heart-stopping smile of pure joy and affection, and you’ll hope that they feel the same. You hope that they will want to go on many adventures with you or, if they can’t, that they will be thinking of you if life may lead you on a different path for a while.

Love is blind faith, and it’s time I start getting what I’ve been wishing for: the courage to take that first step. The courage to say, “I’m not perfect. I’ve made a lot of mistakes, but I’m learning from them. I might make mistakes with you, but I want to learn from them, too. I want to do it with you. I want to do everything with you. I want to do everything for you because you are an amazing human being that I am so glad I have in my life.”

So, this is me taking that first step. This is me finding my courage, the thing I’ve wished for that will show the one I love, you, how I feel. And when you’re done reading this, I will hope you have the same courage to tell me how you really feel, even if it’s not the same feelings that I have for you.

Because I wouldn’t wish a lack of courage on anyone. It takes so many chances for love away. Whether it's a family member, a friend, or a romantic partner, I'm going to put my love for the most important people in my life first when it comes to 2021 and beyond. Will you join me?

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed my resolution this year when it comes to love and the connections we all should think about with our loved ones, please give this a like and share it. It really helps me grow and keep writing. If you’re interested in more of my stories, articles, and more, check out my Twitter for live updates when my most recent works/projects are available.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.