Motivation logo

What Does Happiness Mean To You? (The Truth About It)

What do you qualify as happy? What makes you happy? What makes others happy and others unhappy? We dive into all these questions below.

By Christina SpohrPublished 4 years ago 9 min read
1

The Truth About Happiness And How To Find Yours

Take a second to reflect on your life in the past and present.

  • How happy were you in the past?
  • When were you at your happiest?
  • How do you feel today, right now?

Those are just a few questions you can ask yourself to find out more about yourself and what truly makes you happy.

So I by no means am a professional psychologist or have a doctorates degree. All the things I am sharing with you are things I've learned through out the years and come to realize about happiness.

I wanted to create this post in hopes that this information helps you with your life. Because life has its ups and downs and sometimes it's freaking hard to stay positive and be happy.

Things happen in life, I get it. We are all human and sometimes life rolls over us like a freight train.

But this is why this post was written. I wanted to share with you some information I've learned about happiness along with some of the best times and worst times in my life so you can learn from my mistakes and apply them into your life.

How To Find Happiness (Creating Your Own)

Now lets talk about how you can create your own happiness.

Remember this is your life.

Sometimes we worry so much about what other are thinking about us.

Or worried we will miss out on certain things, I believe its called FOMO syndrome, Fear Of Missing Out.

So are you doing things because you want to or because someone else wants you too?

This is also with your job, or your income level or your love life.

What ever it is that's going on you can control this. You just have to open your mind to it.

Before we talk about creating your own happiness I'm going to share with you my story and and what I learned about happiness.

I'll also share what I learned was making me unhappy. You might be going through something similar.

So I'm going to be turning 30 this year. I still feel like I'm 22. Haha

But I realized a lot of things this past year.

Especially about happiness.

And what brings happiness.

I've realized it's about being in the moment.

Even If life is just horrible right now.

You may have some debt and the bills just keep stacking up.

You may be struggling to pay your power or internet bill.

You may have an illness or a family member might be ill.

There could be so many things going on in your life, just like your neighbor, your friend or the person driving by you.

We all have our own issues and struggles in our own way.

So no judgments here!

So when I graduated college I moved to California and started working in a bar.

I had started a business back in college with my boyfriend and thought I would be rolling in the dough and everything would be rainbows and butterflies.

Well I didn't see the results I had expected in my business.

Of course I wasn't going to quit but lets face the facts I had to pay the bills.

So like I said I stared working at a bar. I knew I would make more money working less hours then with the degree I graduated with.

And to be honest I didn't want to work in the corporate world. I wanted to work from home, have the freedom to travel with out having to work on someone else's paycheck and time.

But one year turned into, two and two turned into three and before I knew it it had been 5 years already. I was still working on the business part time, but still not seeing all that great of results.

To be honest I was happy, I actually did love working at the bar. I loved my co workers and the regulars. They made work fun and interesting everyday.

But towards the end of the fourth year into the fifth year I could definitely feel my energy change.

I was over it. I couldn't explain it.

I just hit a brick wall.

I was sick of dealing with customers.

I was sick of going to work.

I was sick of cleaning up after people.

Something I enjoyed doing before become a chore and I dreaded going into work every day.

This is when I realized I had to be done with it. I was not even having the same relationship with the regulars as I once did before.

Then something happened the bar changed ownership and they were shutting down for renovations.

It was like the universe was telling me something.

Something I had wanted to do for so long, work full time from home on my business.

So I had a choice to make.

To find another job or go full time in the business.

I knew that it would be tough but I knew that I would make it and be alright.

So going full time in my business at first was weird.

I had to create a routine, my own schedule.

I was so used to working my other work schedule that I didn't really have one for my business. And two I realized I was comfortable with that steady income from the bar.

But I realized for the first time in my life I was doing what I truly wanted to be doing in life.

It was like a wave of relief that rolled over me. I was happy.

Even if I didn't have that steady income.

Even if there was that unknown.

I'm not saying it was easy and breezy. There were days that were a struggle. Especially with the bills adding up.

But through it all I was happy. I was happy waking up every morning next to my boyfriend, my best friend, my life partner, the person who has been with me for 9 years, through the thick and the thin.

I was happy for our precious five year old Pomeranian, Mia.

I was happy about my work, every day i'm excited to learn something new and share it with you.

I loved where I lived, waking up and going on bike rides or walks on the beach.

But with all this self analyzing I also realized where I wanted to improve because it brings me happiness.

The two major ones for me are my family and friends.

I will admit through my struggles I sort of ghosted my family and friends.

It was hard to talk to them. I mean how do I share with them we sometimes only had $1 in the bank account. We don't go out or travel right now, we are just paying off the bills.

It go so bad at one point we split Ramen.

But I was still was happy. Even though life was like this I was still happy and wouldn't change it.

Because I knew I was focused on my goals and everything kept getting better everyday.

The same thing is for you and your life.

So I can't say your struggle is worse or not a struggle. We all experience things at different times in our life.

Really Ask Yourself...

Now you know about struggles and how ones persons struggle is different then someone else's. And some people's struggles are worse then others.

This is where is comes down to you and really analyzing your life.

  • Are you happy with your job?
  • Are you happy with your daily routine?
  • Do you have hobbies?
  • What activities make you happiest?

Happiness is a choice,

You can choose to let the day or certain things defeat you or you can pick to be happy.

It is a choice, you have the power to control your mind you just have to pick to do so.

It definitely won't be easy. It will take work .

But know that it is possible. Its just up to you.

What Is Happiness To You?

Happiness can mean lots of different things to people. But in the end its the way you feel about it. I mean it's your life.

You will know what makes you happy and not happy, someone else can't tell you these things.

Sure there are things in life we may not enjoy doing but that does not mean we are unhappy.

I mean who really likes doing the dishes?

I don't but it's something that has to get done or it builds up, and it will start to smell and i'll run out of dishes.

So in the long run this activity does bring me happiness because a clean house brings me joy.

So take a second to think about the questions from earlier and what happiness means to you.

What really makes you happy?

  • Is it sitting at home watching Netflix?
  • Is it reading a book?
  • Is it going on walks?
  • Is it traveling?
  • Is it playing video games?
  • Is it going to amusement parks?
  • What is it...?

I've come to realize the simple joys in life is where you do find your happiness.

Like in the story I shared with you above it is so easy to fall into the traps of negativity especially when things come up that we don't expect.

But if you really take a second to look at all that you do have.

And think about all the things that makes you happy.

You should realize the things that make you happy and do more of those things.

You'll realize more things will come to you over time because of the positive things you are focused on.

I got a lot of my mindset from The Secret. You can check out the book here.

Conclusion

All in all happiness is a choices. You can choose to be happy or unhappy. Even though life throws dirt on us sometimes and it feels like we are stuck in quick sand and we just keep sinking the more we try to get out. Life doesn't have to be like that.

You can pick happiness instead of unhappiness. As we talked about above you can do some self analyzing and ask yourself questions to get to know yourself better to know what makes you happy or unhappy or what you want to be doing more of because it makes you happy.

Ultimately the one thing I would want you take away if anything, just know you can do anything you decide to put your mind to.

You just have to decide to do it.

So if you decide today your going to be happy and do things in life that makes you happy and spread joy then yes you will find a way to do so because you just told yourself you are going to do it, no matter what!

Thanks for stopping by! I hope you learned lots.

See You In The Next Post,

Your Friend ,

Christina Spohr

IG @thechristinaspohr

YouTube Channel

P.S. If you found this information helpful I would always appreciate a tip so I can keep creating more awesome content you can learn from and love to read. :)

happiness
1

About the Creator

Christina Spohr

Helping small business owners grow their business online.

A tip is always appreciated to help me create more awesome content for you.

IG @thechristinaspohr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.