Motivation logo

What Do I Really Want For Myself At This Point In My Life And Why Do I Want It?

Hard Truths We Need To Tell Ourselves

By Johnny NezhaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

What Do I Really Want For Myself At This Point In My Life And Why Do I Want It?

Ever felt like your life has no direction? You want to do many things but you cannot quite settle on which? You have many talents, but which one will bring you the most fulfillment, on top of, living in a world of paying bills, which one will remain just a dream or hobby, and which one will be the most lucrative? You tune in online on social media and the lies that people tell themselves by telling us that their life is so well put together, that they are accomplished, filters over filters, staging poses by faking they are “natural”, and there you are, sitting on your couch or laying on your bed, eating doritos, and wondering, what am I doing wrong and why I, just like my friends on social media, am not living my best life?

Well, there are a few answers to that, but this piece will focus on you, mainly finding your core purpose by pondering deeply as to what it is you really want, by asking yourself deep questions.

So, what do I really want for myself at this point in my life, and why do I want it? I will start by broadly explaining how I answered this question for myself, hopefully this way it’s inspiring you to find your own. One of the main purposes I have identified myself with, has been healing the world, partly through communication, and this is why I have joined Vocal. I have mulled over so many times about why the world is the way it is and why happiness is temporary, why is pain so lasting, and why it always feels like this existence is more of a rolling in with the punches and becoming a resistance game rather than a self-actualization process.

As my wife coined it once, she said, “This is hell, it has to be” which I do not personally disagree with. I know this can seem a daunting perspective of a world view, but considering we live in California, in a first world country, with so many amenities and services and taking into account that many people want to come live here, technically, we should be excited. Yet, we are not. Therefore, it can only down-spiral from here on a global perspective. My personal take on this has been that this world is a sick patient that desperately needs help, but you need to protect yourself from it, because its inhabitants can be clumsy to say the least, and dangerous at its worst.

It was rather abstruse to me to come clean about my purpose because I always felt big reticence into nailing things down, but I am understanding that the price of confusion is getting too high to pay. I do not understand why we think that we have a 500 year lifespan when we don’t. And really, the best of our life time is from our 20s to our 40s and that is it, then we start declining and as I tell my parents when they start preaching lessons that have run out of their time and thus usefulness, you are sunsetting, so please, be quiet. It is a concealed hard truth but we really are just mortals, that will dissipate and will be forgotten. Yet, we live our lives as if we are invincible. Don’t get me wrong. This is not meant to be depressing, my intent is to introduce humbleness in what we do. Because when you look at reality with your eyes wide open, your choices will reflect better outcomes. We do not live forever, there are animals that live longer than us, and there are trees that live longer than us. Tomorrow is not promised, so proactively take action now, without being too desultory any longer. Success lies in organization, restriction and routine. Discipline is key. But are we ready for it?

So, what do YOU really want for yourself at this point in your life, and why do YOU want it?

goals
1

About the Creator

Johnny Nezha

ENTJ-A. Founder & CEO At Khleon. I question everything. I’m driven by intense purpose; aiming for the pinnacle in the pursuit of self-actualization. I analyze for a living. Dismantling illusions since 1994.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.