Motivation logo

What a Gal?

Truly Inspirational

By Ambreen AhmadPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
6
A Climb Made Easy......

As I sit in my room, contemplating the events in my life; I clearly envision the one person who breathed life into my broken soul, who made me realise my potential and innate talents through continuous support, uplifting gestures and positive attitude. My mentor, my friend, my support, and a true gem: she was and still remains my motivation to achieve the best. Zarmina Shakeel, the principal for a school that I joined almost 18 years ago, saw in me what even I couldn’t see.

As I walked nervously into the school corridor for the first time, I was welcomed by a lovely smiling face that had the gentlest of sparkling eyes. This was my first job since my marriage, as I had wanted to breathe some fresh air into my withering life that was full of chaos and pain. I still remember the first few conversations I had with her; so much positivity, such a vision and so much compassion that it was hard to believe that such a person existed.

I started as an English language teacher for junior classes and on every step I found her as my strength. Every day I walked into the school more motivated to make a difference, because I saw how she was impacting the lives of children and families around her. In spite of a small set up, her private school consisted of so many children with diverse backgrounds; be it from an underprivileged family or middle class and even the moderately rich ones. She broke the norm that private schools were only for the privileged class. She created a balance between different classes and sects by combining them into one section. I could see how children entered the school with a smile as she stood outside to greet them. I could see the process of how the shy or introverts were becoming confident as she stood by each one of them, and encouraging them to develop from within.

This compassion and leadership extended beyond students and parents. She made sure that her teachers developed the same way. When I talk about myself, she could see in me what I never thought existed. Initially, I was nervous and scared to take up challenges because it had been hammered in me that I was worth nothing. I came to her as a person whose confidence had been broken, whose self-esteem was shattered because of her marital issues. The transformation from that person to what I am today is mainly because of her. Her trust in me, her guiding qualities and her supportive actions made me realize I possessed more than what I was told.

The days that I entered the school bruised and broken, she wouldn’t ask me any questions; instead her trust in my abilities made me forget my pain. She put me up to new challenges and taught me how to utilize my skills. At first I would just stare at her thinking what she saw in me; how could a person hand responsibility to someone who was already broken? How could someone understand another person without asking questions? Why would anyone be so generous in extending a helping hand without asking for something in return?

But with time, I saw how she had transformed me from a scarred and battered person to a confident and a stronger person. She not only developed me as a person, but saw my potential as an achiever. Whenever I had doubts, she would smile and insist me to look inside myself and see the talent and qualities that I had. When I made mistakes, she had my back and guided me to learn from them. When I could not find a way, she showed me compassion and support through her actions and strength of character. When the time came for me to make a huge decision in my life and free myself from the shackles of pain; she taught me how to persevere and find my way back to sanity. Every word she said healed my raw wounds and helped me build a better life.

As I moved on in my life and faced the wrath of reality, her reassuring words always impacted my actions and gave me strength to achieve the unachievable. Her guidance on continuing education changed my decisions in my career, as she showed me the path with a different perspective. My journey of 15 years was based on her advice and guidance. I ended up being a head of an educational institution due to her inspirational support. She illuminated the light in me, taking me out of the darkness of uncertainty and fear.

Even today when people ask me how I can be so positive in life, I always remember her vision and perspective. Looking at her today, she is still continuously striving to make peoples’ lives better as she heads a charity to provide free education to the underprivileged. She still inspires me to be a helping hand to the needy without any ulterior motive. She still makes me contemplate on the small blessings in life and be grateful. When I am lost in a maze and cannot figure out a way, I find answers through my strength and abilities which she made me see. The once broken person stands erect and successful because she had a mentor who was a beacon of hope and inspiration.

You may come across many people who leave footsteps in your life, but you hardly meet people who have such an impact that your whole life changes. You hardly meet people who make you see what you possess and how to grow from self-reflection. She was and will always be my inspiration to attain perfection.

healing
6

About the Creator

Ambreen Ahmad

I always loved writing; what started as writing diaries to writing poems...now I feel life has given me a chance to express my thoughts to everyone. Perhaps, my writing could touch the audience a life lesson in a positive way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.