Motivation logo

We Live In Uncertain Times

& It's OK Not To Know Much

By Antonia LyonsPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

I feel that the last couple of weeks have been the hardest since the Corona Virus first appeared on the worldwide scene.

It’s funny how life goes: you soldier through the hard times, only to freeze when things start looking up.

In my case though, I know that a bad day only means that I’m not as quiet and I don’t laugh at my husband’s jokes.

I know how to sit with uncomfortable stuff as it comes up without fleeing (it’s called “spending a fortune” on training & mentorship).

I also know when & how to move on from it, rather than letting heavy emotions swallow me in.

The last few weeks I have been different.

As I watched myself going from being all calm & zen to suddenly feel like I could punch the walls, I sensed an edge that was both new and strange.

I have, what most folks would call, a good life.

Very good life, in fact.

Those like me don’t get to complain, and if they do, others will shut them up pretty quickly.

So feeling all this frustration felt out of place & quite unfair, since so many around me are struggling right now.

“What’s wrong with you woman? Have a word with yourself!!!” – I kept on asking myself.

It was only the other day that I suddenly saw how the uncertainty pervading our lives may have gotten to me more than I was willing to admit.

Because I’m supposed to tell you that this is actually an amazing time in human history.

At the end of it, we will be lovingly embracing one another & no more hate or hunger will ever be known on this planet.

Sure, but that will not not happen just yet.

These Are Uncertain Times

So right now what you & I are going through is really hard for one reason: we don’t know what’s next.

There is no one who can honestly say how the coming months, or even years, will unfold.

And we don’t like that.

The unknown opens wide in front of us like a void that can suck us in and never spit us out.

We stand right at the edge of it and can not longer see what was once behind us, for that’s gone.

Never the less, jumping in is no option for it’s dark and scary down there.

We are all hovering around this huge black hole, not knowing.

We hope we’ll go back to what we know eventually, and yet even that no longer feels right.

So here we are, in no man’s land, waiting to be told it’s all going be just fine.

As I’m writing this, I realize that I really don’t know much anymore.

And it’s OK.

In a very strange way, it’s actually thrilling and liberating.

For the first time in my life it’s just OK not to know how the future will unfold & that gives me permission.

I’m allowed to try & re try without the need to get it right, until I feel comfortable enough to say “Yes this is for me!”

Gone is the urgency to ensure everything around me is in check, for it really was never meant to be that way.

Whenever my clients ask me how to deal with this uncertain time, I just always make the same suggestion.

Take The “Good Deep Breath”

If you feel overwhelmed just stop whatever you are doing.

Just stop and breathe.

Take a good deep breath in & out.

With every conscious breath you choose life over & over again.

That means you choose yourself each time, even when things around are far from settled.

Even simply starring at the wall or the floor while breathing for a couple of minutes gets you out of your head and moves you to your heart.

Here it’s way easier to stop focusing on unhealthy thoughts and just focus on your calmness.

And there is so much of it, even though you may not feel it all the time.

And here is one thing I still know despite everything.

Right now, as I write this & you read it, we are OK.

In the present moment, you & I are always just fine.

It’s only right here that we can access the incredible resources that we all have, for when we are in the past or future we tend to freeze.

The present always offers opportunities that we normally tend to miss.

So dear friend, you may not know much anymore and it really is OK.

And so it is,

Antonia Lyons

Thank you for stopping by. 

I'm an "Energy Intuitive" & founder of Evoking Grace, your online sacred space designed to Inspire & Support you.

I have created a very unique approach which combines my intuitive skills, timeless wisdom, & practical tools to help you Heal, Thrive, & Live a better life.

If you like my work and are curious to find out more, click here here!

Sign up to Evoking Grace and get instant access to my Free Video Series: Thoughts & Emotions Make Our World.

Be part of my “online tribe”: follow my mumbling & musing on Facebook and my inspiring videos on my YouTube channel Bliss In The City!

healing
1

About the Creator

Antonia Lyons

Hello! I’m Antonia Lyons.

I’m an “Energy Intuitive”, founder of “Evoking Grace”, a unique approach combining my intuitive skills, timeless wisdom, & practical tools to help you Heal, Thrive, & Live a better Life.

Click Here & Be Inspired!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.