Motivation logo

Want to Be Happier? Ask Yourself This Important Question Every Day

The answer may surprise you

By Jesse WilsonPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
photo by Kellepics from pixabay

Several years ago, a work colleague signed off from our conversation with two little words that struck me deeply. It wasn’t the usual “See ya”, or “Take care” or a plain old “Goodbye”, but rather something at the time I found unusual. Something that I have always remembered and now choose to live my life by.

What she said was simply, “Have fun!”

Have fun! I thought.

It made me think, immediately I recognised she was right. That is exactly what we should do. Since hearing the words, my friend and I have had conversations about happiness and doing the things we like. We have talked about how fun can be subjective and how we sometimes have to endure enforced fun at work.

But the fact remains since I heard those words for what felt like the first time as a friendly term of endearment and an alternative to goodbye. I have always considered she was generous to end our conversation with a phrase that stopped me in my tracks and made me pause for thought. Hearing those words made me think about what I was doing, where I was heading and who I had become.

Fast forward a number of years, and the life lessons have come and gone. I am, in many ways, the same and a different person. The responsibilities I have taken and shed, along with the life-changing experiences of living with the deaths of both my parents, understandably clouded my focus.

Fundamentally my beliefs remain unchanged. It’s just that, in the reality, I have chosen, I forgot my guiding principle of why do, if it is not fun or if you must do, make it fun.

Why write this today?

My recent work with my wellbeing and empowerment coach reminded me that ultimately we always have a choice. We can always choose how we approach obstacles or how we react to people and events.

In this reminder, I remembered my colleague's words, “Have fun”, because I know we receive and give our best when we do. When we base our activities on fun, we are free from external expectations and judgement. We are centred on who we are.

Don't believe me and still feel compelled by a sense of duty and responsibility? Ask yourself this.

Do you remember how you learned and how you looked forward to activities involving play during your childhood development? Do you remember how when you played, very little, if anything else, mattered?

These are the prompts I use for myself because we are curious, creative, and imaginative in play. During play, we are less focused on eventual outcomes but rather on being and on being ourselves.

So this is the reason why I have remembered and started signing my articles and posts with, “Have fun”. My friend's gift is a reminder to myself, and well wish for others that you may find fun and enjoyment and appreciate all you have and do. After all, what is a life without any pleasures?

Go on, ask yourself the question. Am I having fun?

Thank you for reading, have fun, my friends. 😊

If you enjoyed reading, please like, share, and subscribe. Tips are Greatly Appreciated!

happiness
1

About the Creator

Jesse Wilson

Writer | Conscious Living Speaker | Poet - Inspiring people to find their purpose and live healthier, happier, more loving, and fulfilled lives.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.