Motivation logo

Waking up at 5 AM

What I learned through this

By Gavin PerkinsPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Hello, for the next 5 days I am going to be waking up at 5 AM. I want to learn why it's important to wake up at 5. Why is it important? I have no idea; that's why I'm going to get my sources from two different articles. Then, I will see if that data corresponds with experience. The first reason is that you will have an open window in the morning to connect with yourself or your faith. By getting up early for uninterupted and non-rushed time, you'll have time for personal development and time to work towards your aspirations. Another common point I found was that you will reach your peak state or build that discipline for everything else. Increased motivation and confidence is brought to the table. You will become a more respectable person with integrity. I don't know how some of this is necessarily correlated with waking up at 5 AM, regardless, I am up for the challenge. I will be tracking my progress each day. By writing a short little summary of how I feel, what I did, and how waking up has affected me.

Monday: The date is June 1st of 2020. I woke up feeling rejuvenated and confident. Waking up this early is a win within itself. I awoke around 5:14, a little off, but we'll get there. After doing my morning hygiene, I came downstairs and got some coffee. I went back up and read for 30 minutes. Following that was my attempt to do a guided meditation. I lasted about 5 minutes and decided to not do one this morning. I'm noticing a lack of focus this morning. Practicing some self-inquiry, I think my lack of focus is sourced from wanting to do everything I can before the day gets started. I am curious to see if I will end up more tired than usual throughout the day. I thoroughly enjoy waking up at 5 AM. Day 2 is always the hardest. Let's see how tomorrow will go.

Tuesday: The date is June 2nd, 2020. I woke up at 5:00 AM this morning and stayed up till about 7:00 AM. During those two hours I did my regular routine of reading and writing. I didn't work out this morning though. The second day is always the hardest and it sure lived up to my expectation. I fell right back asleep at 7:00 AM. Didn't wake up til 8:45. Also, I wanted to track that I was exceptionally tired today.

Wednesday: The date is June 3rd, 2020. I'm feeling rejuvenated, but also slightly tired. I'm going to get a workout in, read for a while, and then write. I feel as if today will be a productive and efficient day. Waking up has affected my mindset. I have become more positive and assertive towards my work. My minds I did have a productive day, I wrote an article, and it was satisfying to get one done before the sun rose.

Tuesday: The date is June 4th, 2020 I woke up, and needed coffee this morning. I am noticing a pattern in waking up. I either wake up feeling refreshed or I don't want to wake up. Either way, I still manage to wake up. Which is, as I mentioned before, a win within its self.

Friday: I didn't wake up at 5:00, I woke up at 6. I worked out; that workout seemed to make me more tired. However, I am feeling confident and that today is going to be a productive day.

My thoughts on waking up at 5 AM. I think it's a great habit, especially for character and discipline development. I agree with the article, pertaining to the fact that you do have an open window. It's quite calming being up before everyone else. It gives you a sense of humbleness. I genuinely feel that this potentially could be a lifestyle. You get much more done by waking up earlier, you feel better, and in my experience my outlook was better for my day and overall. I agree that you reach your peak in the morning. I think the reasoning behind that is your willpower or drive is limited. When you wake up your drive is at its peak, your drive is depleted throughout the day; whilst if you wake up early and execute tasks in the morning, you will find such things much easier to do. As well as, the more you get done, it increases your motivation to continue; kind of like a snowball rolling down a hill getting bigger and gaining momentum. I don't agree that you are filled with integrity, but I only did this challenge for 5 days. I think this is important for everyone to try. You will see a difference in yourself and your life. Thank you for reading!

goals
Like

About the Creator

Gavin Perkins

Young photographer and blogger

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.