Motivation logo

Use These 10 Steps to Pretend You´re Motivated And See What Happens

Fake it until you make it is BS. You are not getting rich just because you are acting like you already are. The material world cannot be influenced by thoughts. But what about our feelings?

By René JungePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Brooke Lark on Unsplash

The classic: Now think what it's like to bite into a fresh, juicy lemon.

Has your face warped? Was it almost like you could taste the penetrating acidity of lemon? Then you have just experienced what power a thought can have over our body.

This also works the other way around. I'm sure you've read before that you should stand with your legs apart and your fist stretched as if you were a fearless warrior before an important conversation, such as salary negotiation.

Psychological studies ( https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/abs/10.1177/0956797610383437 ) show that people in situations that demand self-confidence act more confidently if they have previously taken such a so-called power pose for a few seconds (Note: You should do this of course as long as your negotiating partner is not yet in the same room as you).

But as an author, I am interested in a different feeling much more than self-confidence: The motivation.

Why? Because I'm sitting at home alone and no boss is looking out for me to really work. I have to motivate myself to turn on the computer and write the next article or book.

The problem with motivation, however, is that it often just doesn't want to show up.

If you also have problems with motivation from time to time, this article is for you.

If the Powerpose models self-confidence, how do you model motivation?

Standing with your legs apart, your fist stretched out to the sky - this is a sign for everyone that you are self-confident and confident of victory. Your body and brain interact in a feedback loop.

While the body signals to the brain: I am strong, the brain strives to create a corresponding mental state that fits this physical feedback. The result: We not only look stronger, but also feel that way. And those who feel strong and self-confident can act in the same way.

If we want to generate motivation in the same way as in the previous example of self-confidence, we need to know and replicate the physical and mental signs of motivation.

What do motivated people look like who tackle a task full of vigor? What do you think?

The 10 characteristics of motivated people

1 Motivated people clap their hands and say: Go for it.

2 Motivated people talk with a relatively deep and calm voice.

3. motivated people breathe from the stomach. Those who breathe hectically and spread unrest are not motivated but stressed.

4. motivated people have the right muscle tone. They are neither tense, nor do they allow themselves to sit crooked.

5. motivated people look straight ahead and don't stare down.

6. motivated people have positive self-talk.

7. motivated people smile a lot and have relaxed facial expressions.

8 Motivated people approach their tasks with confidence.

9 Motivated people are curious about the process, not the outcome.

10. Motivated people don't get distracted.

Stress is not a good motivation

Let's say you get up in the morning and know that you have a job to do that you don't feel like doing at all. Ignoring the task is not an option. You'd be in a lot of trouble if you decided not to do anything.

Now one might think that this urgency is motivation enough. But far from it.

Starting a task because you're afraid of the consequences if you don't do it is negative motivation. This can lead to you actually doing the job, but the price you pay for it is unnecessarily high.

Anxiety and pressure lead to stress and stress endangers health. So if you have to do something you don't feel like doing, you shouldn't get sick from it.

In such cases, it helps me to go through the 10 points mentioned above consciously.

Let the simulation begin

I start the laptop, get myself a coffee, and before I sit down, I clap my hands (1), smile relaxed (7) and say in a deep and calm voice (2) Let it roll and go (1).

I sit down and make sure that the monitor is at eye level so that I don't have to work with my head down (5).

My mobile phone is switched silent and is out of my sight (10).

Then I open the document or start the program I need for today's task. I consciously recheck my muscle tone (4). I deliberately let go of tense muscle groups, and if I notice that I am sitting there limply and powerless, I correct that.

I consciously breathe slowly and evenly into my stomach (3) and tell myself that I am fit and awake and that I will do my job with ease (8 and 6).

Finally, I say to myself that the result is not yet relevant. Instead, I look forward to working itself because I know that the journey is the goal (9).

After going through this little ritual, I usually feel much more motivated than before. Then I'll start working.

Can you also benefit from this method? Try it out!

No method helps everyone, but without a method, no one is helped either.

For me, the simulation works in ninety percent of the cases. The days when this method does not help me are those when motivation is not the problem, but fatigue, or a cold.

I strongly recommend that you try. After all, you read this article because you find it hard to motivate yourself. What it means to motivate yourself is often misunderstood.

It is not a question of persuading ourselves to work with logical arguments. This approach is usually doomed to failure.

My method does not require any arguments. The mixture of physical and emotional signals that we send to our brain through the simulation is sufficient to trigger a positive feedback loop.

You have little to lose but much to gain if you give the method a chance.

I'd like to hear from you if this method works the same way for you as it does for me.

how to
Like

About the Creator

René Junge

Thriller-author from Hamburg, Germany. Sold over 200.000 E-Books. get informed about new articles: http://bit.ly/ReneJunge

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.