Motivation logo

Under the sky

The poetry project of nature

By Ingrid Bell Published 3 years ago 5 min read
1

Start writing.. The project 'Under the sky' has been a real inspiration to me. I began working on it due to my strong love and admiration for nature as well as my love for writing poetry. The word nature here refers not only physical features and natural resources of the earth, but also human nature. I usually love to spend time observing nature, especially during my spare time,so shortly after brushing up on my writing skills a bit , I got going with a few poems, thus, I came up one day with the idea to do a full collection of poems, which I later called 'Under the sky'. In my opinion, it is a wonderful anthology of essential poems.

The book was designed to encourage people to love nature, help to improve their spiritual/emotional well-being and stimulate their interest to write creatively. It is a piece of work that has been put together over 5 years, and I really enjoyed working on it, as it has incited me to use my creativity and broadens my imagination, throughout the entire project, as well as giving me the opportunity to learn a vast number of new words, and improving my grammar and research skills. It also helped to improve my skills in photography as well, I was regularly inspired to take pictures that impressed me.

Working on this project has really created some happiness in my life as it has been teaching me that each piece of work has its own uniqueness and gave me a different feeling. For example, while creating the poem 'I love to go to doctor's cave', it gave me a feeling that I was there, as I was able to imagine myself on the beach interacting with the different aspects of nature, mentioned in the poem, such were the seagulls which I described as the 'sweet- seagulls'; gliding over the ocean floor. The seashells and corals I mentioned were depicted as' happy treasures' which I found along the beach as I was there exploring and enjoying the soft white sand, that were usually feeling like soft velvety cushions under my toes.

In the poem I also imagined myself looking at and admiring a couple of valuable and long-standing souvenirs, one of which I imagined was a wall plaque: something that I once saw on my mother's wall at home, while growing up as a young child. I was also enjoying the fresh sea breeze that was constantly flowing from the sea. While writing this piece of work, I also often felt like I was there de-stressing/calming myself on the beach; thus improving my health and well-being.

Another piece of work to which I can refer, was the 'Autumn time', poem, which was another piece that I really liked a lot. From the time I started working on this piece, I realized that I have grown to love Autumn so much more than before. I wrote most of this poem from the observation of some trees behind my bedroom window that were shedding leaves one autumn. As I watched the leaves falling off the trees rapidly, I was mesmerized. The experience reminded me that all of the leaves do not all fall off at the same speed or in the same direction. Some leaves were falling as though they were taking a plunge, like deep - sea divers, while others came down in a slow motion like sailing ships, and sailed a long way across the area. Others came down like were they were flying away like birds.

Working on this project has also encourage my diligence, and improved my of skills in general. Whenever I wrote a poem, I tried to read it several times, over and over, in order to ensure that I have it sounding correctly and making much sense. There were some poems that I just had to replace a couple of words, while others I had to change out an entire paragraph or two, thus changing almost the entire poem for it to make more sense. Whenever this happens, it did not only improve the quality of my writing but, but also the quality of the entire project; allowing me to express myself better, and propels me to go on. 'Fresh Hope for the future', 'Rivers', and 'When Spring is back,' are a few of those on which I did a lot of extra work, changing/replacing sentences and words.

While working on the project, I took a lot of pictures of the sky on different days, to show how awesome and romantic the sky can be; as the clouds create different patterns in the sky on different days, and at different times throughout the day. I also took pictures of some trees, that could be used anywhere in the project, where necessary. I also participated in a short period of meditation and prayer while trying to focus on the completion of the project.

One day,while I was meditating, I wrote a poem that is based on one of the psalm from the bible. It was Psalm 136 'His love endures forever'. However, my poem is quite original and has its own title, which I named 'His love is everlasting'. After writing this poem, I realized that it was not only a poem, but it was a piece of writing which could also be given music, thus I discovered that I also had a song. I was quite amazed, and began singing and recording it.

Overall, I could see that working on the entire project did not only prove to inspire me, but I could see that it had already began inspiring others. I hope that in the future it will be able to bring even much greater support to people from all walks of life, as it has a number of potentials, which include:

1. The ability to encourage and inspire both the young as well as the elderly to write creatively.

2. The ability to help them to improve their health/well-being, as well as providing entertainment and enlightenment.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Ingrid Bell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.