Motivation logo

Uncanny Fortune

A miracle or a subcontract? Money is money

By Devin Published 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Uncanny Fortune
Photo by Shot by Cerqueira on Unsplash

Money makes the world go round. It's the greedy truth we all know and the lower class hates it. You can try as hard as you can, but it takes years just to climb up from one class to the other. I'm one of the many in the lower class that tries. I'm 24 years old, living in Baltimore, trying harder and harder every year to have enough to get out of the lower class but living is way too expensive in this world. I haven't gone to college, I have no certifications, just a high school diploma. I'm working a dead end job, making only $600 bi-weekly. And things aren't getting any easier from there, only getting worse. I'm trying to pay off medical bills and credit card bills all while having to pay $900 at the end of each month for my apartment's lease. But I have a roommate so paying the lease isn't too bad.

It's Thursday night and I just got off of work. I'm heading to the bus stop and I notice a tall guy wearing a suit and holding a briefcase standing at the bus stop. I greet the guy and sit on the bench. He just nods. There's a brief silence before I attempt to ask about the bus. He tells me a story about his friend who started off working at a nearby McDonald's early this year and how he now has over $100,000 just by making investments. The bus finally comes and we both get on and sit next to each other. Our conversation about money management and investing is still going. The bus eventually gets to the guy's stop and he tells me he'll see me around. I notice last minute that he leaves his briefcase next to me on the bus. At this time, the bus gets to my stop so I bring the briefcase with me in hopes that I actually find him soon. I get home and my roommate is sleeping. I go in my room and head to sleep with the briefcase sitting beside my bead.

It's the next morning, and I decide to examine the briefcase. It has a note on it.

"All of your problems will be solved just like mine. Use it wisely, bus stop guy."

I guess he means me, but I don't remember him writing anything that entire time on the bus. I open the briefcase and I can't believe what I'm seeing. It has $10,000 in it. I take all the money out and stack it in front of the closet door. I go to close the case, but I see a little black book. I open the book and flip through it and I see names in it that fills up half the book. Under the book is a sticky note.

"Write your full name to be blessed." It reads.

I write my full name in the book. I suddenly get a knock at the door. I open the door to see a guy wearing an all black suit, holding up a sign.

"The little black book." it reads.

I hand over the book and he flips to the page where I wrote my name in. He nods and gives me a briefcase, then runs off. I close the door and open the briefcase, and it has $30,000. I give $15,000 to my roommate. I donate $5,000 to charity, then I use $10,000 for investing. There's people in this world who need money more than I do. The money I get from investing, I use for helping the homeless. Everyone needs a helping hand. So this is my story for you.

success
3

About the Creator

Devin

Hey! My name is Devin. I'm 22 years old. I like writing realistic fiction, fantasy fiction, and fiction genre all in the first person perspective so my work will mostly be that. hope you guys like my content!! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.