Motivation logo

Twelve Of The Best Time Management Tips For Busy People

Time-management 101

By Jazz ParksPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Twelve Of The Best Time Management Tips For Busy People
Photo by JanFillem on Unsplash

I’ve spent years studying the qualities of successful people, and I’ve found out that time management is one of those qualities.

Yet, there’s too much out there focused on time management — it can get quite overwhelming.

That’s why I’m here.

I decided to take all of my knowledge on time management and compose my top twelve tips for busy people.

These are tips that have worked for me or others that I know personally, so each method has been tested and approved by me or somebody I’m close to.

Always Complete The Most Important Tasks First

What do you do when the to-do list looks more like a receipt after visiting your favorite candy shop? It’s long, hard to look at, and you can’t help but feel like there’s something else you should be eating (I mean doing).

Seriously though, the solution to all of your problems – the one trick to help you tackle that to-do list; handle the important stuff first.

Generally speaking, every morning, I have three top priorities to complete before anything else. Of course, I have my coffee, take my morning dump, and all that, but then I’m focused on my top three tasks for the day.

Why focus on the big stuff first? Because when you eat the frog first thing in the morning, the rest of it goes down easy.

Sleep 6–8 Hours Per Day

Sleep is important. I used to be the kind of guy that would stay up twenty-four-seven, claiming that rest was unnecessary, which is why I was always feeling burnt out.

Lack of sleep can lead to high blood pressure, diabetes, heart attack, heart failure, and other heart-related problems.

Be sure to get at least six hours of sleep.

I recently had a newborn daughter, so I never really get a solid 8 hours, but napping helps. Taking just a 20-minute nap can help improve your mood, stay focused, and they’re good for the heart.

The Early Bird Gets The Worm

We’ve all heard the saying before, “the early bird gets the worm,” and it’s true.

Every morning around six o’clock, I watch the birds chirp along with our front patio, pecking away at the seeds and worms in the ground. Then 11:30, 12 rolls around, and the remaining birds grudgingly stomp around, looking for scraps.

Don’t be like those birds.

Be an early bird.

Avoid Multi-Tasking

The downsides of multi-tasking didn’t hit me until after our daughter was born, when I almost bumped her head while feeding her a bottle and texting at the same time.

Now, whenever it’s time to provide, I play some smooth Jazz or Reggae, lean back in my recliner, and smile back at her while she feeds. Not only does this keep me focused, her safe, but it also roots me in the present moment – the only moment that counts.

Avoid Perfectionism

I used to spend weeks going over my writing before I’d publish a single post. Everything had to be perfect. It wasn’t just with my hand, though, but with everything. I’d procrastinate at work because it took me so long to finish my reports, I’d slack on cleaning the home because it would take too much time. I even quit drawing because I couldn’t draw the eyes right.

Perfectionism is a curse because it holds you back from your true potential.

Next time, submit the article. Of course, I spend a few hours revising, editing, and maybe having a friend look it over, but then I submit it. I don’t spend an extra week or day even going over it. I present it because it feels good enough for me.

Turn Tasks Into Habits

Habits are your friends. We brush our teeth, (hopefully) eat breakfast, clock in for work, exercise, and sleep based on the patterns that we’ve developed.

The best part? You can develop habits that suit your goals or your vision for an ideal future.

Your brain would explode if you had to do everything without relying on a habit. Habits are neural links in the mind, and when triggered, they cause you to do an action. Brushing your teeth is a good example. To someone that doesn’t regularly brush his teeth, it would seem more or less like a chore, but brushing teeth happens automatically, first thing in the morning to those who’ve made it a habit.

What are some daily tasks that you could turn into a routine?

  • Brush your teeth
  • Do some meditation
  • Make your bed
  • Track how you spend your time

Track Time Spent Watching TV

How much TV do you watch per day? What about per week? Do you think it would scare you if you knew? Well, it sure as hell shocked me.

“Where’d the time go,” I’d frequently find myself asking, so I decided to track my time, starting with the amount of time spent on TV.

Thirty-two hours per week. You heard me right; I watched TV for thirty-two hours per week. It was time for personal intervention.

Since then, I’ve maybe spent no more than 5 hours a week watching TV In fact; I’ve gotten so good at not watching TV that I don’t even bother watching it.

We used to keep the TV on just in case, now we keep it off and the remotes held in a drawer.

Do Less, AKA, Use The Pareto Principle

I can guarantee that you’re doing too much. How do I know this? Well, thanks to a handy law called the Pareto Principle. Just like gravity, the Pareto principle is a confirmed law that has yet to be proven wrong.

The Pareto Principle states that only 20 percent of your work brings in 80 percent of the results. For instance, with my writing, it doesn’t matter how often I write or necessarily what I’m writing. Only twenty percent of my posts bring in 80 percent of the traffic. The only thing that matters is that I’m contributing value.

What’s your twenty percent? What brings you the most results in your workplace? Is it cold calling, selling a particular product, making people smile? Whatever matters most, focus on that.

Utilize Your Weekends

Most places are closed on the weekends, so use these days for tasks related to home improvement or spend it connecting with friends or loved ones. Every Saturday is scheduled with one of our friends, and Sundays are family dinner days.

Use your weekends to make social connections, tackle to-do lists, or relax.

Stay Organized

You can’t be on top of your game if it takes you twenty minutes to find your keys.

I have a particular spot by my desk where I empty my pockets whenever I arrive home from a long day.

We have an extreme amount of dressers and filing cabinets, with sticky notes to remind us where things go. Staying organized has freed up so much of my time; time is usually spent looking for something in a panic.

Limit Your Wardrobe

Two years ago, I threw away all my clothes, bought three pairs of jeans, 15 white t-shirts, one pair of sweats and two overcoats.

Why?

Because I was sick and tired of spending every morning or evening trying to figure out what to wear, now I literally have no options, which means I’m up and ready to go in five minutes.

Maybe you like to look stylish, or throwing away your clothes isn’t an option. That’s fine, but for those who need to limit what they carry or for when things get crazy in life, consider limiting the wardrobe to save up some free time.

Plan Your Day In Advance

Each night I suggest writing down three priorities for the following day, any remaining tasks as well as any appointments or work hours.

Plan your day the night before.

Always stay one step ahead of the game. Whenever I forget to plan my day out, things usually get messy. I have to stay focused, and I do so by planning out my priorities.

Maybe you’re like me, and having a kid makes it impossible to guess exactly when you can get to something. That’s fine; I’m not asking you to build a routine, but write down any necessary things that must get done the following day, and do them early.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Jazz Parks

Father | Husband | Oldest of 6 | Born in Bellingham, Wa |

I firmly believe that to know a man, you must first know his goals. My current goals: pay off all debt, invest 20% down on a home, and travel as much as possible!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.