Motivation logo

Turning over a new leaf.....

Change!!!

By Jacqueline PaynePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
16th Valaversary, to us!

It's been a long time since I last wrote a story. Today the 11th of February 2021, I am in the mood to share a new one.

Life has been unpredictable with the Covid 19 virus and emotions have been running high with confusion, fear and even joy at times.Why joy? you must say, well ..may be because it has given some of us the opportunity to get that so desperatly wanted family time or even opportunities to just sleep in and reflect , while for others it takes away from the rat race of travelling to and from work or even just getting through a really busy day, where now you may have to walk to your space of work and just click on zoom and you are at work..

Turning over a new leaf is a story about my life and how far I have come . I turned 50 on the 11th of september 2020 and since then alot has changed in the way I feel and think.Things that once bothered me do not any more and I am more focused on what makes me feel good than about what I should do to make others feel good, not saying I do not care ,I mean I just really believe that alot of time gets wasted focusing on the wrong things...

Most of all working on my personal life has been a big one and facing the truths of what triggers me off to get upset is much in focus now.Sometimes with all the hum drum of life we forget the little details and forget that it is important too,like giving more attention to your loved ones and figuring out what rocks their boat even may be finding the time to create a romantic moment to boost the intamacy .Yes. it takes alot of thought and effort and most of us fail to recognise that it is a very important element of strong relationships.

So here I am today practicing what I preach.I have been thoughtfully planning valentines day and my 16th wedding anniversy ,making choices of what we will eat and how the ambiece will be.Due to the pandemic and concern for our health it has already been planned that our girls(daughters)will be visiting us and we will be having a pj date together, by safe space and masks ,although I have decided to have a romantic date night on the 12th Friday, where I will be making a very scrumptious dinner for my love Kevin, with lots of little surprises ahead..I will leave it to your imagination to wonder ...Ha! Ha!

Turning over a new leaf can be anything from changing your thought process to focusing on how and what you say and feel....I have been feeling positive and refreshed ,even focusing on saying positive affirmations to myself and loved ones while letting them out into the ether, has brought about me taking a new job online in a comoletely diferent direction rom what I am familiar with....reflecting the heading of my story.

Looking ahead and preparing for a brighter and happier existance is what everyone wants but we all have to work for it to happen...the first step is to turn over a new leaf and do something totally different from what you once did or are familiar with ....will seem out of sorts in the begining but as time goes by it is a refreshing experience to live through.

I can say with practice that it has not been easy and sometimes I just think it is a waste of time ,but then quitting is not the answer..so I get back into my driving seat and continue with what I have started.

Today while I was working in my home office teaching conversational english to a student in Turkey I heard foot steps, it was my husband going to the front door to see who was ringing the bell...Oh! gosh , I said to myself ..must be the flowers I ordered for my hubby and myself ..came two days too early..you see what I am saying about turning over a new leaf..where I would be hoping to get flowers I went ahead and got the flowers for the both of us.

I saw the smile on my sweethearts face and gave him a passionate peck on the lips saying," This is for you my darling and me, for us."

Loving the new me and embracing my fears while overcoming challenges of daily life has made me resilient to the fact that metamophosis is a part of being human..all we need to do is let it happen with out resistance and th end result is a beautiful shining diamond.

I am a diamond in the rough now .....turning over a new leaf!!

Jaki

healing
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.