Motivation logo

Time Well Spent

You have been given time, now use it to do something worthwhile.

By Elisha FowlerPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
Time has a wonderful way of showing us what really matters.

Time is perhaps our most important resource because it is, for each of us, painfully limited. We have to divide it carefully between work, sleep, and play. One thing I have neglected to mention is volunteering.

Whilst some don't believe in volunteering because it involves working without being paid— which to some is absurd—others give money to charity and say that is their role. Consider this: if you asked someone to list all the good qualities about you, what would they say? Maybe you're a good cook, funny, kind, organised, caring... the list goes on, by not volunteering you are denying an organisation these skills which they are so desperately crying out for, as there is no such thing as a charity that has enough volunteers.

Now if that isn't enough to convince you to start volunteering, then try this: close your eyes and think of the best moment of your life, the most memorable, or the funniest. Then open your eyes and think how many moments came into your mind? I predict that in most of them you were making yourself happy. Maybe it was your wedding day, the day you graduated or passed your driving test. All of these things take months of planning, working hard and, in the end, it would have been worth it. How good would it feel to make someone else's life happier, easier, better, and be part of a memory in their head?

Through working with disabled children, I'm lucky enough to have been present for moments such as a child's first interaction with a complete stranger. Children who would normally sit in a corner and not take part can be helped. You could be there for the day they join in and start to become part of something bigger and even making friends. The day a child finally is able to use a skill that's taken endless perseverance to achieve, a skill that perhaps a mainstream individual would've taken for granted, you feel a real sense of achievement. When I close my eyes, I can think of all these times I've made someone's life just a little bit better, and I can never help but smile. I'm by no means saying that I did it all by myself, I've met some fantastic individuals along the way - friends who I know will always be there for me - the same as they were there for the people that they work with. So whilst I'm not being paid money, I'm being paid in satisfaction. The satisfaction that I've helped put a smile on someone's face and I'd take that as payment any day!

Back to “time," the issue I mentioned at the start! I know no one has enough time to spend every day volunteering; some organisations will only want your time once a month, or even a handful of times a year. But the feeling you get once that experience is over…well, I think it's fair to say you'll find yourself volunteering regularly.

First, choose an organisation that you're passionate about doing something you are already good at! If you’re a good cook, then you can find pleasure in cooking for people. Go online and find your local soup kitchen. If you love fashion and clothes and designing outfits, go to a charity shop and design mannequins. The list of opportunities is endless! There are several websites to help you find the opportunity that suits you. yYu will never regret it

advice
Like

About the Creator

Elisha Fowler

Living the life I love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.