Motivation logo

This is How Art Saved My Life

And helped me reconnect to my emotions

By Toni TailsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
4
Art by tonitails.com - [the author]

When I was a child, I used art to tell my story when words hurt too much to carve into being. I flung paint onto the canvas like a madwoman in those days. My voice was slick oil, dusty charcoal, broken lead smudged into corners. My tears were watercolors, trailing rainbows into taunt linen. Animals of all kinds, real and imagined, were sculpted to life by any pliable medium within my grasp. No errant flower petal, table napkin, or blade of grass was safe from my ever creating and nimble young fingers.

Art by the author

This was when I was young and unafraid of the power of my own emotions. I wanted to give them a place to go to. I wanted people to understand what I was feeling. I needed to show the world every good, bad, and ugly emotion there was to feel!

Somewhere along the way, I became numb to my emotions. It's no coincidence that during this time, I also stopped creating visual art. I stopped writing. I stopped singing. Art was gone from my life.

I may never have begun again if not for necessity. I needed money for a family emergency, and I imagined my friends might be interested in purchasing some of my art. They were. I earned all of the money I needed and more. I promised myself I'd never stop creating again.

I have kept this promise for 8 years. I create something every day. I write a song or poem, sing a tune I make up along the way, tell a new story, put together a craft, and I draw. Always, I draw.

I have rarely created art with conventional means as of late because I also decided to teach myself to create digital art with programs that felt like an alien language in the beginning. Though I am pretty handy with a pencil or pen and paper, I couldn't say the same for using a computer mouse or touchpad (as I did at the beginning of my journey). My work was clumsy but whimsical, and I built up a fan base and a business creating graphic art for various projects while I learned.

I thought a lot about creating what I call "pure art" as well and allowed myself to indulge in that every so often. Still, I censored the emotions that once screamed from my work. I created peaceful scenes so that I could roll around in soothing waves of color.

There is a lot of vulnerability in presenting your art to others. My most recent logo was for a baby food company, and though I knew I created exactly what my client asked for, there was a part of me ready to flinch from a negative response.

Presenting art that is created from something deep within yourself is thousand times more painful. It is like baring a bit of your soul to your friends, family, and whoever else happens upon your work.

I dared to do this today. I scratched pain into my tablet, walked through a garden of emotions, and I felt them all. I welcomed fear and pain like old friends. I held anger to my breast and dared to hope for better tomorrows.

When I began creating every day, it was simply to say thank you to whatever unseen force allowed me the capacity to do so. I didn't realize I was beginning a journey that would lead me to that girl who used to fling paint at peeled tree bark and twist dandelions into a backyard menagerie. I see her now, in the corner of my eye, and she's smiling at me.

She's saying, "Welcome home."

healing
4

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.