Motivation logo

Things like this don't happen to me.

He didn't have much but he still gave.

By Anthony LeclairPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

It was the year 2011, I was doing my regular job, which was to pick up food for the less fortunate. You see my job consists of picking up food from different vendors who would give leftover edible foods that were safe to eat. So I would clock in at around 7:30 am and began my route, not thinking that this day was going to be different. The company I work for was not just a shelter for the homeless, but It was also a drug treatment program for those who were seeking help.

My schedule was usually from 7:30 am to 4:00 pm, but on this day I finished at around 3:30 pm. As I was getting ready to clock out, one of the guys who was in the treatment center and was currently homeless and who I knew approached me and said he wanted to talk to me about something. So we went to the little library up the stairs that they had there and he said he wanted to bless me. I look at him and said he didn't have to do that, knowing his living status, but he insisted. So I let him finished talking. He said he wanted to use his food stamp and buy me 100 dollars worth of food, so in doubt, I was waiting for the catch, and he said all I need to do was to pick up his wife who was down the street and take them to the store. I was so emotional that I began to cry and just tell him thank you. As we both finished shopping at Kroger, I got carried way not really counting the number of groceries and the cost, so the cashier said the amount for me was $129.00, I looked at my friend with a guilty look on my face because i went over $100.00 and he just smiled and said its okay don't worry about, Its a blessing. I once again got emotional and almost started crying right there and just kept saying "thank you, thank you."

Let me rewind time for a second, you see I was not really struggling with my finances, but during this time I was a little low on cash and I did not have much food, in fact, I was going to donate plasma to get some cash for some groceries, not knowing what was going to take place on this day.

As we left the grocery store I looked at my friend and hugged him and said thanks again. We both loaded mine and his wife's groceries in my car and went back to his wife's house to drop off the her items. I had to also take him back to the treatment, and after that, I went home to put away my groceries. In my apartment, I was so emotional and excited that, that's where started to really cry and thank God for his blessing, but the story does not end her.

A few months went by and my friend decided to leave the shelter, to go back to his wife and kids, but things did not turn out like it should of, because he relapsed and was out on the streets again. I was asking everybody at work once I found out, to see if anyone has heard of him and I would not get any answers because most people did not know much about him.

So now a year went by and it was around Christmas time, and as I entered my job, I was confronted by my old friend, He was back. He started to talk to me and was explaining to me what has happened, and I just told him that I was glad that he was okay as far as I knew. He told me that his wife wanted a divorce because he could not stop doing drugs. As we continue talking he was emotional because it was around Christmas time and he did not know how he was going to get gifts for his kids. I looked at him and reminded him how he was a blessing in my life about a year ago, and I looked at him and told him, now it was my turn to bless him. The funny part about this was that I happened to have in my pocket a gift card worth enough money for him to get his kids Christmas presents. He had such a shocking look on his face as I handed him the card, that he too gives me a hug and thanks me, and I told him just like he told me a year ago, "its a blessing, don't worry about it."

happiness
1

About the Creator

Anthony Leclair

I was born in 1977 in South America, Brazil, and was adopted when I was 7 years old. I started writing to help ease my anxiety and to let people know my thoughts and how creative I can be with my storytelling.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.