Motivation logo

Things I'm Passionate About Part 4

A Brent Salmon Memoir

By Brent SalmonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Things I'm Passionate About Part 4
Photo by ThisisEngineering RAEng on Unsplash

This is part 4 in my series of subjects I’m passionate about, buckle in!

1. Cyborgs, Cybernetics, and Transhumanism

This is a long-time love of mine stemming as far back as 80s sci-fi action movies. The idea that we can combine our biology with technology to create something new to define as “humanity” still makes my imagination get excited with the possibilities even after all these years. I was one of the original users of the Better Humans original website about transhumanism I think 17 years or so ago and one of the first subscribers to h+ magazine as I recall. I’d like to expand on this interest with profiles of my favorite cyborgs from fiction and reality, what I think a cyborg is versus say a pseudo-cyborg, cybernetics technologies and how they’ve advanced over the years both in sophistication but also in social acceptance, and transhumanism itself as a concept in my personal viewpoints. This subject is as much about pop-culture and technological advancement as it is about philosophy, psychology, and the progress of humanity as a whole. It’s a far-reaching umbrella that I have a LOT to say about.

2. Linguistics

I fancy myself to be something of a polyglot. My Dad is, my grandparents were, my great grandfather was a merchant seaman who was a hyperpolyglot and I picked up quite a bit from them, including their passions for learning more. I’ve read countless books and dictionaries, done Pimsleur courses, Rosetta Stone, and now I’m really fancying Duolingo for Spanish, German, and Japanese (the one I spend the most time on is Spanish as my daughter’s step-mother is from El Salvador). In addition to that I watch TV and movies from all over the world, subbed, dubbed, and raw, and play videogames using foreign language tracks. All to better immerse myself in a an arguably dying discipline (since universal translation technology is growing in leaps and bounds). Writing about this I’d love to discuss my favorite words and phrases in other languages, different books and programs on the subject of learning them, things I’ve learned about myself, other cultures, how languages impact the brain and behavior, maybe even trying my hand at translation to and from other languages and see if I can make native speakers laugh at me.

3. Experimenting with Business Ideas

This is one I’m a little more hesitant to talk about for many reasons. I like privacy and privacy of finances is important, I think. I’m also no kind of guru to sell people advice and how to do things to make money or any other such things like that. But I love to help people and I love to talk about new ideas in regard to making money and I love testing them where I can and inspiring other people to try different side hustles and things. I also love learning new skills and techniques and sharing what I’ve learned and how it has helped me in the hopes of maybe helping others. As this is one of my main passions, I’d like to discuss the different ideas I have for things, share some great things I’ve found that work amazingly or that I really enjoy, review products and services in the space of entrepreneurship, discuss or do profiles on some of my favorite entrepreneurs in business and finance, maybe how they inspired me and why. Some mental hurdles I have about different things and how I’m dealing or have dealt with them. Really anything I can do to help people learn more about business and finance and develop their own financial freedom if that’s what they want for themselves.

Thanks for reading and stay tuned for Part 5.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Brent Salmon

Dad, Dog Dad, wannabe polyglot, amateur engineer of all the things, pre-med biologist, medic, psych major, ex trauma-counsellor, programmer, artist, serial entrepreneur, occasional cyborg, and now, writer.

Facebook

Instagram

YouTube

Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.