Motivation logo

The Wonder Within Her

Finding strength in the most unique ways

By SCARLO BECK FolsomPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Lynda Carter at The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Costume Institute benefit gala.

I grew up watching “Wonder Woman” and believing that I could do anything I set my mind to and work my body to achieve. What I didn’t realize is the behind the scenes who Lynda Carter was as a woman. The fact that Amazon women are depicted as strong, resilient, and knowledgeable in all thing's beauty. What I had understood is how she stood for truth and justice. I stand for these and always have.

I had no idea how profound she would be as I grew into my own. I wrote to her and many other actors. I vowed to work to be strong and resilient no matter how long it would take. I worked on my physical strength by running and working out. I was so happy to notice that strength was there and speed shortly behind.

The challenge I found was being clumsy. I found that my strength was always there just in different ways than I ever imagined. I had a viewpoint that Lynda is a strong woman who manages life and strength in the most profound ways.

Then I got to start watching her and learning the other sides that made her more “real” than ever before. She stated in (Sky High-Principal Powers), “I am not a wonder woman”. I heard this and my heartfelt response was, “Yes, you are!” I got to know who this amazing woman is after I heard this and saw different perspectives of her life.

Lynda Carter is many things, including a wonder woman, to me. She is a mom, widow, and has a strong family support. The reality is that though she has the background in television and entertainment, our lives mirror each other. I feel a sense of connection and renewal with our similarities. I have been a widow twice in ten years. My goal is to help and encourage other women to be strong in themselves and know what works for them rather than others telling them what they need to do.

She hopes that what she has done is an encouragement to women around the world to do and be the best they can be. This was her desire through her 4-year stint from 1975-79 filming “Wonder Woman”, to encourage women and girls. She continues to do this in other formats to this day.

Her entertainment background is one that I dreamed of having and can still have as long as I keep working in that direction. The only one holding me back is me. I find from her that I have to just keep looking at the variety and not just television. She is in entertainment but diversified throughout the industry. She didn’t stay just on television herself. She is a singer and dancer. She has it in her blood. Me, I might not have it in my direct blood but it is definitely there. I love to write and she wrote her own music. She may have produced hers. I am not far behind.

Though she is like a mother to me (in spirit). One day we might meet. I would love to tell her that she really is a wonder woman to me because after all she has been through she still stands strong with a smile on her face. She doesn’t hide who she is and shares with others about the struggles and challenges of living through life and working through the troubles.

We might not be Amazon women but the wonder comes in the strength we have found and grown on in the artistic world and our talents. I am not nearly as known as she, but the strength I have drawn from her watching and learning about how to grow and strengthen within to share with others.

Letting go of the “old school” notion that women cannot manage life on their own is outdated and needs to be considered obsolete. Not thrown in the trash because it is our history. This is why Lynda is the dragon beside me.

celebrities

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    SBFWritten by SCARLO BECK Folsom

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.