Motivation logo

The Tale of the Honey Bee and the Butterfly

Tale of friendship and teamwork

By Carla SofiiLove Garcia Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Tale of the Honey Bee and the Butterfly
Photo by Laura Seaman on Unsplash

Once upon a time, there was a honey bee working hard to bring the honey back to its comb. The bee worked and worked for several hours with barely any time for its family, he knew that his colony depending on it. One day, the honey bee was so exhausted from many long days of pollen collecting, that he sat down for just a moment of rest... relaxing under the warm sun, he dozed off. Several hours passed, not realizing that he was fast asleep, he dreamt about a perfect world where he had created a gadget that made collecting pollen an easy and simplified process; the Pollen-Extractor-Thingamajig! "At last!" said the bee, "I have discovered a way of bringing much pollen to the colony and I will be the hero!" Off he flew into the meadow above a field of marigold flowers, the honey bee seeing how many there were, he knew this would be a breeze.

From one marigold to the next, he mapped out and drew up his greatest invention, and there it was, the most amazing thing to be created in his life! The honey bee rushed back to the honeycomb to show it off to his friends; when CRAAAAAASH! He stumbled upon a big beautiful butterfly! The butterfly was many different colors and very, very big! When he crashed into the butterfly, he was startled and the bee woke up from his dream. Rubbing his eyes after his slumber, the bee was quite confused if his encounter with the butterfly had actually happened, but as he had imagined, the day had come and gone, he had to rush back to the colony. Honey bee got back to the comb and started talking to his friends, but still wondering about the dream. Then, he heard in the distance, "I was out in the meadow when this majestic creature covered in the rainbow flew right above my head and snatched up all my pollen!" Much to bee's surprise, he knew then that it was not a dream, or was it? Scratching his head and questioning this other bee's story, he went up to the other bee and asked, "how else would you describe the butterfly?" The other bee replied, "well, it had long beautiful antennas, huge colorful wings, really long legs, and it carried a pouch." The honey bee was stunned to learn that his dream was based on a real-life creature, not one that he had ever seen before.

As the honey bee pondered about the interesting creature, he flew to his secret hideout and worked on his invention. "I know this would help all my friends and I would be able to spend more time with my family!" said the honey bee while he worked putting the contraption together with a glisten in his eyes. Finally, it was complete! The gadget had levers, gizmos, buttons, and so much more! It was a thing ahead of its time, honey bee knew that he was going to be the hero of the tribe! Flying back to the comb with the gadget in his tiny little arms, honey bee crashed into something in his path! The butterfly! "WOW! What a beautiful creature you are!" he gasped in utter shock! "Excuse me, I didn't see you there, do you need help with that?" butterfly said to bee. Speechless in disbelief and fear all in one, the bee was left without a word to say. Honey bee trembled in fright not knowing what to do, the butterfly giggled and helped pick up the broken pieces of the bee's invention. " My invention is ruined! What am I going to do now?!" the bee yelled in despair. "I can help you put it back together!" offered the butterfly excitedly. The bee was angry and irrational, forgetting that he didn't know the butterfly for much time, he buzzed and said things that were not too kind.

In an effort to be helpful, the butterfly was picking up the pieces, when the honey bee came at full speed and tackled the butterfly, almost making her fall off the flower! "Ouch! That hurt!" yelped the butterfly, not understanding why the bee was trying to push her. "I haven't been able to spend time with my family in years, and this invention was supposed to make our job easier!", said the bee. "I'm sorry if I didn't see you, but the gadget is broken... maybe I can offer a different solution." In brainstorming some ideas with the honey bee, they came up with a brilliant idea together! Onward towards the meadow they both went. Their bright idea was to collect as much pollen as possible and carry it back on the butterfly's wings; it wasn't much, but it was a start. Flying back to the bee's comb, his colony was surprised to see him arrive with the creature that they were all afraid of. As they approached the honeycomb, the butterfly commented, "You know I won't fit inside the honeycomb, and I don't think your friends will like me". The bee started to think, "I got it!" he said with much enthusiasm. He rushed to get inside, and out came the swarm of bees!

All gathered around the butterfly collecting a bit of pollen off of her wings, they were all surprised as to how much work got done in a short amount of time. After all the pollen had been added into the honeycomb, the queen bee came out and said "thank you butterfly for all the assistance you provided to my colony, we will forever be in your debt". The gleeful butterfly felt proud and confident that she had been validated by the queen, she further explained why she did it. " You see, I helped your honey bee because he had come up with such a great gadget and on his way back to show it off, I bumped into him and accidentally destroyed it”. The butterfly pulled the pieces out of her pouch to show the queen, when the queen said, "this honey bee has been one of the most hardworking and inventive bees of our colony, this does not surprise me that he had created that. What does surprise me is that he let his pride down and let someone help him".

"We do make a great team!" said the honey bee, "I'm sorry for yelling at you and for pushing you". The butterfly shrugged her shoulders and said "it's ok, I know you were under a lot of pressure and I know how it is to want to be around family... I don't have family, but I wish I did". With those touching words, the honey bee asked the queen if the butterfly could be a part of their colony, and the queen accepted. The colony started building a home for the butterfly and she was happy to be taken in as their family. After that day, the butterfly and the honey bee teamed up to make the work easier on the entire tribe, and they all lived happily ever after.

success
Like

About the Creator

Carla SofiiLove Garcia

Writing is my passion... find me on Twitter @goddesswriter90.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.