Motivation logo

'The Sickle'

Life Changes

By Marie HumphreysPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

I was at a point in my life when I felt all was lost. I was addicted to methamphetamines', out of work and about to lose my home. A close friend of mine shared her most coveted book with me and told me to give it a try. The book was called "The Sickle". When I first saw the title I was immediately taken aback by it. Was this religious (I am agnostic), or perhaps some sort of witch craft? Over the next few weeks I read passages at my leisure, not caring that I was reading the chapters out of order. But each time I read from it, I came to the realization that I had randomly landed on a passage that related directly to the way I was feeling at that very moment. The lesson showed me the way out of my own way and always lifted my spirits. Now some may call be gullible or even superstitious for what I am about to tell you. My good friend who was also my next door neighbor was moving so she asked that I return her book. I was so distraught over no longer having a way to continue my learning. Shortly after I returned her copy, I was taking a walk in the desert and there on the ground was a copy of "The Sickle" half covered in dirt. Although it was slightly water damaged and appeared to be well used, it seemed to contain the full book. It was a green leather bound pocket size version just for me. I wondered to myself, was it fate or magic that lead me on that particular path that day.

Since that time I have moved to another state, cleaned up my act and went back to school. That was over 30 years ago and in that time I became sober, got married to my soul mate, became a successful Accountant, held two of the most gratifying positions with well know companies and never slowed down. Today I am 65 years old, still blissfully married, semi- retired and oh I almost forgot to share the best part. I still have the little green book that saved my life. The moral of the story is never look a gift horse in the mouth, even if it's appearance is less than perfect no matter where you find it.

So let's look at each accomplishment above one at a time. I moved back to the state where I grew up, which I swore I would never do. My first job was as a porter in a bingo hall on graveyard shift at minimum wage. My little sister was totally disappointed in me for taking the position as she felt it was beneath me. But from where I was coming from, which was unemployed I felt lucky to be working anywhere.

While working at night as a porter I applied for a position with a Tax Agency since I had one year in tax preparation training. I had missed a couple years tax law, So I was required to take a test for my knowledge and received an 87% on the test. But because the firm requires annual upgrades on your ongoing education I was turned down. But then in a twist, I was contacted by their quality control department and offered a position as a processor which I accepted. At the end of the tax season I was the Swing Shift Manager of Quality Control. So like all the temporary workers I was thinking that I was headed for the unemployment line, when I got a call from the Summer Office offering me a job as a Junior Tax Preparer. I accepted the position, registered for their tax class and thought how great is this. Before the summer had even ended, I was contacted by the President of the company and asked why I had not applied for the open accounting position. I told him I was not aware there was a open position and besides I said, I have no accounting back ground. He told me to apply anyway as a formality only, since I already had the job, so I did. Needless to say my head was swimming by now and might I say I was just a bit dumbfounded by all this attention. Eventually he company offered to pay for some accounting classes at the Community College providing I could maintain passing grades. Since I love a challenge I never paid for a thing not even books. I was with them for 8 years until the owner died.

I took a few weeks off and then started looking for work again. I got a call from a friend that their company was looking for an accounts payable clerk and that the job was mine if I wanted it. I was with the company for 15 years right up to retirement. I started as a clerk and ended up being on the Senior Staff, Accounts Payable Supervisor and training instructor for some of our new accounting systems.

I guess I wanted to let other people know that no matter what challenges are thrown your way or no matter how far down you have fallen you should never ever give up on yourself or stop believing in the capacity other people have in being able to see potential. When you have reached the bottom there is only one way out. Straight Up!!!

happiness
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.