Motivation logo

THE REASON WHY I AM SO THANKFUL THIS YEAR

THE THREE REASONS I AM THANKFUL

By rose m lewisPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2
THE REASON WHY I AM SO THANKFUL THIS YEAR
Photo by Howie R on Unsplash

I can think of a lot of reasons one would be thankful for, but mine is a situation I am very grateful and thankful for. Many people are thankful for other things but I am not I am thankful for three things in my life. I am a senior and six years ago I went thru a divorce. I was living in a Mobile Home all paid for but my husband at the time decided to have a home built. We had the home built and moved into the nice Ranch Home. I thought we would have been married for a long time. We were married for twenty-two years when my husband wanted a divorce. So I divorced him and managed to keep a nice home. I was able to get the mortgage into my name because I had good credit. Now I live with my Toy Poodle, and my cat, I have a mortgage to pay every month. I am glad I have the money to pay the mortgage every month.

I am grateful because I worked for the government many years ago and I receive benefits from them and a social security check every month. But without the two checks, I would not be able to live in the home that I love! I was told by my mother if you have three things in your life you are great. The three things are if you have a roof over your head, food on the table and, Clothes on your back that is all you need! Well, you can not live without food and shelter and you sure do not want to go naked! There are three things everyone needs and one should be thankful for them. I am grateful for them they are all I need.

HOME SWEET HOME

By Scott Webb on Unsplash

No matter how big or how little your home is it is a home you live in and one should be thankful. For me, I also am grateful that I can enjoy my home and have friends and family over to share it. It makes me happy to be able to be a hostess to them. Every holiday I cherish hosting for good company and good food. To be able to call this home mine is a big accomplishment, that I am very proud of myself. I am doing it all by myself but I do have a little bit of help. The help I get from my son-in-law! He has not forgotten that during the years I helped his family out many times. So he now helps me when I need it. I only ask him for help when I need it and nothing more. I am very thankful to have someone like this in my life. So now he is repaying me back and I am grateful for it. I happened to think it is teamwork between my daughter, her husband, me. Without teamwork, I would be without the help I need.

BE THANKFUL FOR FOOD

By Anna Pelzer on Unsplash

I am thankful for the food I have to eat. One can not live without food and water. If you have food on the table you are doing great. In today's time if you do not have a lot of money to buy food it is wise to make a budget. One way to save is by using coupons to lower the food budget. One might see which stores have sales and what store does not. It is also best to make a list and stick with the list. It is also best not to go to the store hungry. If you are hungry shopping you will want to buy more items you do not need. One way you can save is by using online shopping. When shopping online one can know how much money you spend. Stores like Walmart have curbside pick up they bring the groceries to the car. I like this because I am a senior and I do not have to leave the car. I try to use this service as much as I can it is a great service to use. If you are really in a tight situation then find food banks that you can go to. You also can apply for food stamps. Everyone needs a little help one time in their life.

BE THANKFUL FOR THE CLOTHES ON YOUR BACK

By Felipe Galvan on Unsplash

Be thankful for the clothes on your back! It would be nice not to go naked, clothes are very important. Maybe you want new ones but if you do not have the money to buy them you can't. Clothes are essential to living you need clothes to leave the house. But as long as you have enough you are all set. If you live in a state where you need a coat and you have one that is great. You can not wear two coats at once so one will do. Yes, it is nice to have new clothes but if you do not have the money to buy them then don't. It is great if you know how to sew and make your own. I have been sewing for a long time and taught my daughter how to sew. Sewing can be less expensive than buying new clothes. If you do not know how to sew you can learn online. There are many sites you can visit to learn how to sew. There are other ways one can obtain clothes and that is the second-hand stores. A store like Value Village sells clothes at a discount price. There are many other places one can go to buy clothes.

happiness
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.