Motivation logo

The Present

By Sean Kenneally

By Sean KenneallyPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

I have lost myself. I didn’t used to care about likes or streaks or any social media and now it’s the only connection I have to the people I love. Life as we once knew it seems so far away. I always try to stay positive but I’d be lying if I said I was handling this well. I don’t think anyone is handling this well. The life I fought so hard to get was ripped away in an instant. An instant we all laughed about not a week before it happened. An instant we didn’t take seriously until it was too late. Each text I send, each video I make, each call you don’t answer is me fighting desperately to feel like that life isn’t gone. But it is. And while that’s morbid and sad and not what we should be thinking right now that’s the truth. The life we once had is gone and it’s not coming back. So how do we handle that? How do we cope with having everything we once knew taken away without any warning? It seemed like an easy cross to bare. No school, no work, should be a breeze. But it’s not easy. Life needs purpose. Without purpose there is no reason to live. When each day becomes an endless cycle of waiting to fall asleep, you’ve lost the beauty of life. We need purpose. I need a purpose. In times like these we are told to keep hope alive and to stay positive. But why? What good does it do to avoid reality? This is not a good time we need to accept it and mourn it and be sad because on the other side of that sadness is a new life. It might not be a better one than the life we left behind but it sure as hell is better than a fake world full empty hope. I’m not saying you should lose hope. But I am saying you should lose hope in the past because the past was never meant to come back. “Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, and today is a gift. That’s why we call it the present.” - Master Oogway (Kung Fu Panda) So don’t smile through the pain. Don’t hide your tears away. If we don’t feel all the pains of life we won’t appreciate the beauty on the other side. We won’t be able to tell the difference between good times and bad because we won’t appreciate the good and we won’t acknowledge the bad. Embrace this moment of painful sadness, Embrace the distance between the ones we love, Embrace the loss, so that when we do one day get back to some sort of normal life, we never lose ourselves again.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Sean Kenneally

Hopefully my stories will help someone who may be going through similar struggles that I have been through.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.