Motivation logo

The Power of Perseverance: How a Small Moment Changed My Life

Overcoming Challenges and Finding Strength

By Mudasir ShaikhPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

When I reflect on my life, there is one small moment that stands out to me as having a big impact. It was a moment that happened when I was in high school, and it taught me an important lesson about the power of perseverance.

At the time, I was on the track team in high school, and I loved it. Running was a way for me to clear my mind and challenge myself physically. But I was not the fastest runner on the team. In fact, I was usually in the middle or towards the back of the pack. I had always struggled with asthma, and it made it difficult for me to keep up with the faster runners.

One day, we were doing a timed mile run, and I was struggling. I was out of breath, and my legs felt heavy. I could see the other runners getting farther and farther ahead of me, and I felt like giving up. But then, I heard a voice behind me say, "Keep going. You can do this."

I turned around, and it was my coach. He was jogging behind me, encouraging me to keep pushing myself. His words gave me the motivation to keep going, even though I wanted to give up. I kept running, one step at a time, and eventually, I crossed the finish line.

After the race, my coach came up to me and said, "You did it. You finished the race, and that's what matters." It was a small moment, but it had a big impact on me. It taught me that even when things get tough, I can keep going if I persevere. It taught me the value of having someone believe in me, even when I didn't believe in myself.

That moment stayed with me throughout my life, and it's influenced the way I approach challenges. Whenever I'm faced with a difficult task, I remember that moment on the track and the words of my coach. I remind myself that I am capable of achieving great things if I keep pushing myself, even when it feels impossible.

Years later, when I was in college, I faced another challenge. I was struggling with a particularly difficult class, and I felt like I was in over my head. But then, I remembered the lesson I had learned on the track. I reminded myself that I could persevere if I kept pushing myself, even when it felt impossible.

I started studying harder, spending more time in the library, and seeking out help from my professors. It wasn't easy, but I kept going. And eventually, I passed the class with a good grade.

That small moment on the track had a big impact on my life. It taught me the value of perseverance, and it showed me the power of having someone believe in me, even when I didn't believe in myself. It's a lesson that I carry with me to this day, and it's one that has helped me overcome many challenges in my life.

As I look back on that small moment, I'm grateful for the impact it had on me. It's a reminder that sometimes, the smallest moments can have the biggest impact on our lives. And it's a reminder that we are capable of achieving great things if we persevere and believe in ourselves.

It's often said that the greatest obstacles we face are the ones we create for ourselves. In my case, it was my own self-doubt that held me back. I didn't think I was capable of running as fast as the other members of my track team, and I almost gave up before I had even started.

But my coach saw something in me that I didn't see in myself. He saw a determination and a willingness to push myself, even when things got tough. And he believed in me, even when I didn't believe in myself.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.