Motivation logo

The Pink Cave

My safe haven. My number one cozy corner. My individualized hangout!

By Talia DevoraPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2

Home is my safe haven, even if I am the type of person that loves being out and about. Since my apartment is massive, there are a couple of places that I consider my “cozy corners”. My bedroom would have to be my “favourite and most used” cozy corner, because of my bed, cute decorations, sapphire blue curtains, computer, walk-in closet and miniature library.

At night, I often retreat to my bedroom in which I call “the pink cave” because of its rich and bright cotton candy pink walls. In the day time, I love being in my room to read, do homework, listen to music, meditate and watch videos on my electronic devices. I try not to hibernate in my room for long periods during the day, because I love to look forward to snuggling up in my squishy, warm and comfy bed at night.

My miniature library

My vast collection of books make it impossible for me to preserve them in one part of the apartment. I have to have two libraries: one large one in the living room, one miniature one in my bedroom (as you can see in the photograph above). To make it look more artistic, I added some decorations like a few figurines, a couple packs of cards, bubbles and a photograph of myself with friends at a fundraiser I was a part of in 2019.

An autograph of Damien from The Omen signed by Harvey Stephens at the Fan Expo in 2016

I have been a huge fan of horror movies since I was a teenager. The Omen was my sixth horror movie that I enjoyed watching on Netflix during the summer of 2016. Those big blue eyes, dark brown hair, chubby cheeks and thin candy apple lips that Damien had said it all. I was really drawn to his appearance and his physical strength he revealed in the movie. After fixating on the movie and the actor himself, I decided to visit the Fan Expo with a couple friends, after finding out that Harvey Stephens (the actor who played Damien in The Omen) was going to be there. I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to receive an autograph and briefly meet him. Harvey was such a warm, outgoing, fun, lively and jolly person to interact with and I really love treasuring this autograph that I had the chance to purchase!

The Craft Bin- where I store all of my craft supplies, projects and materials!

One of my favourite things to do at night is knit. Of course I enjoy doing other crafts like diamond painting, which are at the bottom of the bin. Because I mainly knit in my bedroom as opposed to the living room, I decided to store it in this large bin that I have had since I was a child living with my family.

My personalized office!

Since the pandemic, I have been taking advantage of my own personal office! This is where I do my homework, writing, play computer games, send emails, watch videos, shop online and do some research on anything I am fascinated with! It has become a regular part of my life. Typically, I would do my homework at the public library or computing commons at the college I currently attend. The pandemic hasn’t permitted me to enjoy those things, so my personal office has been my only option!

The right side of my desk

I have an ancient white desk which I have kept since childhood. Since my desk is also a cupboard, this is where I keep all of my activity books, notebooks, art supplies, prayers books, and other critical things that I refuse to lose.

The left side of the desk

Since I have a ridiculous amount of space, I decided to keep all of my academic and employment files, certificates, references and resources on the left side of the desk. I have struggled with organization over the years and the amount of space that I have definitely helped me! I was bored out of my mind one afternoon last week, so I decided to take some time to reorganize my things!

My luxurious walk in closet

Since I was a teenager, I have had a walk in closet, so this is not the first walk in closet that I had. Luckily, I got one of the biggest apartments of the building that included a walk in closet in my bedroom. This is where I store all of my clothing, other essentials, bedding, and personal things that are not meant to be revealed! I am also thinking of turning this into a spirit portal one day. When I need a sensory break, I retreat to this closet and listen to music. I’m weird by hanging out in my closet, but I don’t mind it!

My shoe area

I know it is quite surreal to leave shoes in your bedroom, however I decided to be a bit unique when it came to my room. Typically, people would leave their shoes at the entrance of the door, but I found it a bit messy to leave the ridiculous amount of shoes I had by the front door of my apartment. I wanted to think outside of the box and leave my shoes by the window of my bedroom.

My nightstand

One of my favourite things to treasure are Precious Moments figurines. These two Precious Moments figurines that I have kept since childhood are a couple of my favourite ones. The one on the right was my first ever Precious Moments figurines that I bought when I was in Grade 5. The second one on the left was a post-surgery gift that I received from my grandmother in the summer of 2009. The photograph in the middle is a baby photo of a family friend that I was close to at one point in my life. I keep all of my healing stones on my nightstand until I am able to buy enough healing stones to create my DIY “crystal healing kit” using a small gift box!

One of the colouring pages that I did and turned it into a poster

I am a poster junkie, so I always decorate my room with all types of spiritual, mythological, abstract and occult posters and paintings. Below are some of the other posters that are on the walls of my bedroom!

A spiritual poster that I bought from one of my favourite occult shops two months before lockdown began

An astrological poster that I purchased from the same store as the poster above!

The puppy and kitten poster that I bought from Giant Tiger in October 2019 while visiting my grandmother and grandfather for lunch in Sutton West, Ontario

A painting that my mom and her ex boyfriend purchased for my 12th birthday in 2009

happiness
2

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.