Motivation logo

The mind's imagination

show me yours, I'll show you mine

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
6
The mind's imagination
Photo by Marija Zaric on Unsplash

I read a couple stories today on Vocal. Well, more than a couple. But two of them sparked an emotion I wanted to share.

One that gave the writer’s personal opinions about who might win the latest LBB challenge, thank you Lili Jane. And The girl power tattoo, thank you Martina Dearing.

I started writing a couple years ago as my mother was dying, and my marriage was failing, and my kids were leaving for college. I was completely alone and literally thought I could die, and no one would even notice

My poems were dark and sad, and I dumped every bit of my soul into them, I mean, why not, right?!

I have absolutely no formal training, just a heart that needs to be heard, and some sarcasm.

Over the weekend I joined the Vocal Creators Lounge. To be honest, I joined to get a glimpse into who else was writing, why they were writing it and where and could I fit into it.

I found a community full of people writing for the joy of it! They were sharing their ideas and opinions and encouraging one another’s work. A room full of strangers, building and helping (even a competitor), write better. Letting them express their feelings and styles openly and fearlessly, all with the attitude of grace. Giving sincere critiques and enhancing someone else’s ideas to make a better writer. Ultimately making better people!

WOW!!! I would imagine it was comparable to the feeling Dorothy had as she entered the land of Oz…

As I read these two stories today, I thought to myself, We ARE ALL WINNERS!! Not like we all played in a sport and we’re getting a participation award. No, we all wrote something we wanted, maybe needed to communicate. Be it for a challenge, or to share our ideas on tattoos, (which was WAY deeper than that), or our deepest darkest fears and feelings. We are growing and changing with every word we put to paper, and we are helping someone else do the same.

THAT, my new friends, is exactly what we are meant to do!!

Sure, it would be great to win a challenge or to be recognized on some level for the work that you do. But I found, as I’m sure you have too, these stories, lessons, tutorials were written by someone with a perspective different than yours, and they in a few words, have added to you, and you have added something to them.

We are part of a community changing the world around us, and thanks to Vocal, even parts of the world we will never see. Worlds that have been created and shared in script by someone like you. Sitting behind their computer allowing the thrill of imagination take over and tell a tale that will move you to feel, or maybe even move you to action.

Maybe they are sharing an experience that will aid you through a moment you are struggling with. Maybe you gave the exact advice or smile or will to go on and try again, because of something you jotted down.

Don’t discount WHAT you are writing, because you didn’t win the prize, or because you’re not on the front page. If you felt it, share it. If you feel it, thank the author. We are in a big big world, and sometimes it only takes a word to brighten it and make it a little more manageable.

I am having a blast writing, competing, and growing into someone I think I could like. 😊

Thank you to Vocal for this platform, this outlet to create. And a special THANK YOU to every single writer who spends their sleepless nights, lunch breaks or weekends writing down and sharing the unique creativity bouncing around in your heads. I look forward to going where you take me.

Buckle up, here we go!!

Much love. Kelli

advice
6

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.