Motivation logo

The Midnight library

Book review

By Owais AbbasPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
The Midnight library
Photo by Alfons Morales on Unsplash

" T H E M I D N I G H T L I B R A R Y "

⚠️mental health, depression, anxiety, suicide

✨Matt Haig wrote this novel so beautifully , and naturally it was very apparent that he sprinkled some personal experiences, here and there that made it very personal and easy to connect with. for me it’s very important to connect with the author through their words on that extend and to the character. Nora expressed things and felt things that so many people can relate to, i was captivated from the get going.

I would recommend this to anyone who is struggling with " whatifs" , mental health, depression.

While reading this book i was gradually given small and big insight on how things can be dealt with and navigate different negative thoughts if not clearly, close enough.

I caught myself blinking back tears going through the first chapters,seeing so much of myself reflected in Nora.

Years before after going through a breakup, moving to America etc… the things i felt, the guilt and i thought then wasn’t justified, being able to relate made me realize that it’s was very common to feel that way, i was happy and sad at the same time. But it helped me to be more connected to the book.

✨in this work of Matt , The book tells the story of Nora, a woman in her thirties, depressed, who lost her cat, her job… overwhelmed by regrets , thoughts of missed opportunities, wrapped with an heavy blanket made of ‘what ifs’ and endless guilt of hurting of the hurtful decisions she made that affected the people surrounding her.

✨One of the days had gone from bad to worse, like most of us sometimes but Nora convinced herself that the world would be better off without her in it and she decides to end her life.

« THE ONLY WAY TO LEARN IS TO LIVE

✨ Instead Nora finds herself in a library filled with books. Each book, written is a life full of her possibilities and ‘what ifs’. Imagine Somewhere out beyond reasons, between life and death there’s a library with infinite chances to another life you could have lived, different outcomes, choices that gives you clear comprehension of how things would be if you had made different choices…

Would you have done anything different ? If you had the chance to undo things, your regret would you be satisfied with your life?

This novel helped me tackle questions of life, would my life really be better if I’d chosen differently? Am i really living the best version of my life? And so many other questions…

I loved it, well the concept is been used a lot in other movies so i wasn't particularly impressed by the idea but for some reason i felt a connection towards the book so i did pick it, it was a relaxing,joyful read.

I got hooked with this by reading first 2 chapters and completed the entire book in just 2 days,atleast for me that doesn't happen very often but that is cuz the writing is nice and simple but it does carry a lot of curiosity within it as well, like you want to know more even though you can predict it.

The book of course carries a good meaning for people like me who struggle with anxiety,depression and self doubt to actually look at things a little differently like maybe I am not wrong in all situations, may be i judged myself too much on the basis of others, I didnt give MY dreams more importance..this are a few things which if u think about can solve most problems in life or at least make u handle them in a better way..

So Yup, Recommended.

book review
1

About the Creator

Owais Abbas

I will write anything that I like ❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.