Motivation logo

The Home of My Dreams

Isolation & Being Free

By Aria Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Del Norte, Colorado

I guess for a while now the one thing I wanted more than anything was isolation, and to be able to view beautiful things without the chaos of trials and tribulations. Overall, that ideology has become a big part of what I want for my dream home. Currently, I reside in Houston, TX, but after visiting Colorado, I realized that I was in love with the simplicity of the small towns – Like Del Norte. I loved the slowness of the town, and how there’s no one rushing to do things or traffic to hold you back. I loved the views of the mountains when the sun hit them, and the calmness of the Earth in general. So, this is where I would want my dream home to reside. I would want it to be on at least 5-7 acres of land, but I would love for that land to be surrounded by trees, with a lake behind it and with mountains in the far distance. Something about waking up and seeing that every morning brings a calmness and excitement to my heart. It would also be where I would grow all of my fruits and vegetables, and I just can’t wait for the Earth to nurture and love on my plants to help them grow.

Floor to Ceiling Windows

As far as the house goes, I would want an A-frame Cabin. About a year ago, I fell in love with those types of homes. I imagine floor to ceiling windows to be on the first and second floor, and for it to overlook the beautiful of the trees, lake, and mountains. The inside would be both modern and rustic. The most modern point of it would be the kitchen and bathrooms. My kitchen would be pretty big, with a huge island that would sit my entire future family. The kitchen and living room would all be open concept and it would all look at the beautiful view. The home would be two stories, but technically three because there would be a basement area. I don’t 100% know what I would do with that room, but I would love it to be a room of peace and calmness, where you could go to get centered. The next floor would have 2 of the bedrooms, and one of the bathrooms. However, the third floor would be my entire floor. It would house the master bedroom, which would have a barn-like type door that opens up that are huge enough to where you can leave them open and be able to see to the downstairs main area, or you can have them closed for privacy. With a very nice master bedroom, which the only main thing I would want inside of it is a huge walk-in shower. However, that’s about it. There’s not really much I would want when it comes to the inside of the house.

An idea of my dream kitchen

My focus is mainly the land and the outside. The being surrounded by nature, and the feeling of safeness. I guess for so long I’ve been trapped in city life, that I’ve just never felt like I can be free. I never felt like I belonged here, and overall I don’t fit in with the type of lifestyle everyone else is chasing. I’ve always wanted to live off of my land, and just focus on loving the people around me with possibly limited technology. Even though in reality, I would definitely need the technology to be able to pursue some of my dreams business wise. I guess the important part is not about the house at all, but it’s just about being able to be myself and in a weird way I don’t feel like I can be myself unless I’m completely isolated.

How I would want the trees & lake. However, I would want more backyard space.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Aria

I just love sharing my thoughts, and experiences.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.