Motivation logo

The Good and The Bad and The Virgo

Honestly

By Kristy GowarPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4

Controlling, critical, uptight and let us not forget know-it-all; Virgos get a bad rap, I am the first to admit that I can be “hard to get along with” as my family may have told me on occasion.

Honestly though, (yes, we love honesty too, don’t get me started.) these traits only get away from me when I’m extremely stressed, or don't get the exact amount of sleep I require.

This is because as a Virgo I am critical of myself above all else yet also, a highly focused problem solver. I was able to see how destructive these traits were and learn to (wait for it) control them. It’s funny because it’s true.

Now hang on, it’s not all bad:

1. Virgos are thoughtful creatures, and we love to make you feel special.

2. Generosity might belong on the bad list because of the times I have given too much of myself. We will give anything to help someone we love.

3. Reliable; now keep in mind we need stability first to allow for reliability (pro tip right there)

4. I am extremely witty and love making people laugh. (It is possible this applies to other Virgos too.)

5. Organization is a good thing, and we love making lists, as you can see.

Things to remember:

1. I am quite happy to follow your lead if the logic is sound, and your intentions are good.

2. That pile of stuff is exactly where it needs to be if I put it there myself and if someone else put it there it’s an issue.

3. “If there is a problem, yo I’ll solve it” Vanilla Ice must have channeled a Virgo to write these classic lyrics. At the heart of it we do want to solve every problem and end every conflict. I know my methods can made things worse, the point is my intention is always to help.

Virgos seem cold but give them a chance, you will be surprised. On the other hand, they might continue to be cold because you’re a jerk. I really can’t help you if that’s the case. Yes, I can be blunt and yes, it’s a Virgo thing.

like Jane Austen once wrote “I was quiet, but I was not blind.” We may not say what we think, trust me though, we think it.

When I look back on growing up with my sun in the 6th Zodiac sign, there was a lot I could relate to. Back before I had any real idea who I was as an individual it was comforting to feel understood by astrology.

My overwhelming shyness and my need to overanalyze every single social interaction were blamed on my sign. Looking back, that was more to do with my anxiety disorder. When you think about it, other Virgo traits also occur as a result of anxiety. Not to say all Virgo have an anxiety disorder, just food for thought.

Going into my twenties I often looked to zodiac descriptions when meeting knew people and it felt like I had secret weapon. After a while though it all started to feel two dimensional. People can’t be summed up by something so rigid, I decided.

I never completely dismissed what I had learned about zodiac signs. For a time however, star signs held less importance. I suppose they transitioned from being the main course, to being one of many ingredients that make up the meal. It must be lunch time.

Speaking of food, you will impress the Virgo species every time by feeding them something both healthy and delicious. Remember too that your hygiene must be above reproach.

Only recently I discovered a thing called a natal chart. It turns out your sun sign is only one piece of the puzzle, just as I had concluded many moons ago.

I felt like an onion who had been living as an apple. I knew that my sign was Virgo for most of my life, when suddenly I was cut open to reveal that Virgo does not run right to the core.

So many layers to consider. Each planet has a sign, as does the moon. There are north and south nodes, something called an ascending sign, the list goes on.

Dr Carl Jung famously said, “Everything that irritates us about others, can lead us to an understanding of ourselves.” This phrase has taken on a whole new meaning for me since discovering my moon sign is Aquarius.

After spending parts of my life judging that entire sign by the actions of my ex-boyfriends (yes plural) who are Aquarians, I now know that my most hated sign plays an important role in my astrological makeup. If you are wondering, Yes, I do identify with Aquarius moon, whatever.

I also found a strong influence of Libra with it showing up for five planets and my ascending sign.

Virgos do not seek out attention unless it’s praise for a job well done. However, I can be extremely extroverted in social setting when I want to, just like those air signs.

I now understand why:

1. Lack of balance is so distracting to me.

2. I always strive to see issues from both/all sides to keep things fair.

3. Why my head is always in the clouds despite being an earth sign.

It has been very eye-opening, natal charts have even rekindled my love of astrology.

Astrea

Looking at the constellation of Virgo, what you see the goddess Astrea posing as lady justice, holding up the scales (Libra’s constellation) I can’t help but relate to that detail in a very individual way.

self help
4

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.