Motivation logo

The Freedom to Forgive... especially YOURSELF

"The grievances unspoken and not tailored to within are the ones that can pain and scar the deepest..."

By Liryk AlPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Freedom to Forgive... especially YOURSELF
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

#ForgivenessFriday #Freedomtoforgive #FreedomFridays

I have had only a handful of mentors/mentorships throughout the years, however, this post, in particular, is inspired by a former mentor of mine, and a friend, Adam who actually helped me get my start and entry, so to speak, into the fitness and wellness field, via personal mentorship (check out https://rawlifeyoga.com/). He made a post yesterday of his own, regarding living and acknowledging his own skills, talents while living his most open and honest life. It sparked in me a question in how I could live my own most honest, productive, passionate, and wealthy life, while learning to love myself unconditionally again (and others, just with the right boundaries this time LOL) and live to my best and highest potential.

I am writing this in honor of self-love/self-care and accountability which can and WILL, ultimately lead to the state of and feeling of forgiveness, whether it be forgiveness of self or others. It has been a challenge in my life overcoming the suffering of my past both by my own hand and by the hands of fate outside of my control. I have always been a bit hard on myself, not learning from mistakes only doomed to repeat them, due to my lack of insight, yet full of self-loathing. I have hurt others, I am sure, as equally as I have healed and vice versa. Yet it's the grievances unspoken and not tailored to within that can pain and scar the deepest. So I take this time to offer others to join me in #forgivenessfriday, where first, you take the time to think of a moment where you may have done something or someone wrong and take ACCOUNTABILITY for your own deeds or misdeeds.

Perhaps you have held on to it for some time, years maybe, even after THINKING you were absolved only to realize you resent yourself and are punishing yourself through subconscious means.

I know I have, I did.

Well... no more.

I own who I am and who I have become. I cleanse myself of my self-pity for things that I just did not know or could enact at that time. I have lived at the expense of love and I most definitely have loved at the expense of living, none of which I regret. I am only sorry I didn't know sooner of pain and suffering that I may have invested unto you. I am no longer putting up with my own bullshit, so I am certainly not putting up with anyone else's B.S. With that being said...

To start with the "trend" of self-accountability checks on what I can only deem as #forgivenessfriday, I put myself first and foremost out there/here in the virtual universe. If I have personally hurt, disrespected, fallen out of touch, or have had a separating of ways with you due to my lack of awareness and feigned ignorance at that time, PLEASE, I implore you to reach via text, email or DM to make me aware of the situation. I am willing to hear, listen and respond to ALL who I may have wronged or hurt, especially in ways that I may have not known.

Friends, family, colleagues, lovers/partners, FWB'S, F**kbuds, a stranger in passing... you name it

It could have been a text that I didn't respond to or plans made and canceled or flaked or simply we fell outta touch cause of something that you may be resenting me on my end for and I have NO clue yet it may very well be valid AF, I don't know. What I DO know is that I am willing to take accountability for my own partaking in how life had and has turned out. Overstand this: NOTHING happens in your realm of control that one does not ALLOW to happen. So listen, take accountability, apologize to the necessary person/parties involved, forgive yourself, DON’T forget, however, move on with newfound understanding/over standing, live and love life with reasonable and healthy boundaries

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Liryk Al

Multidisciplinary artist in New York

Finding ways to thread my experiences into relatable and informative material

A bit of a "walking contradiction" so, that's my condition

Live life to love and then... just let live what already is

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.