Motivation logo

The Drew Barrymore Show

why I'm obsessed with the actress and everything she's doing for the world

By Katie DawnPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
A piece of the first episode, aired on September 14th, 2020.

Drew Barrymore has been famous since her starring role in E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial. She's done a lot through her acting career, been in a variety of films -- Charlie's Angels, 50 First Dates, Ever After, Music and Lyrics ... I could go on, but with 40 years under her belt, you get the idea!

Drew has gone through many hardships in her personal life, from family drama with parents to three divorces, and other stuff in between. I hadn't seen any interviews with her, nor have I read her book (yet!), but within the first few episodes of The Drew Barrymore Show I could easily tell Drew is the most positive person on this planet -- and I've met some pretty positive people in my lifetime! Now, more than ever, we NEED that positive energy being put out into the world.

I'm so grateful for her show's news segment, "Drew's News". Yes, it's corny! So what? I never watch the (regular) news because all that I'd hear about is politics and the pandemic. Drew makes it her mission to bring about the GOOD news, the stories that popular news outlets seem to ignore as they're only favouring the upsetting and tragic tales. Drew shares the exciting, the unique, the heartwarming -- the beautiful stories. I know, the world isn't all sunshine and rainbows, but honestly tell me, do you not want to at least balance some of the dark with the light?

Drew has shown genuine joy and genuine sorrow when talking to guests -- whether it's a celebrity or a regular being. She is real. She is authentic. She is herself. I like what she said during one of her episodes, how after the birth of her daughters it's been harder for her to take on acting roles; it's weird playing pretend now. She wanted to find a role where she could just be Drew -- hence the creation of this show!

Two episodes that have stood out to me -- or rather, two segments of two different episodes -- were a) the one where Drew reunited with her ex-husband, Tom Green, after 10+ years (so much love and respect between them!), and b) the one where Drew had a psychic give her a reading, even though she was skeptic, and wow was Drew ever shocked by it. (I don't want to spoil too much, but just highly recommend you going to watch clips of these on YouTube.) I have a few other segments that come to mind, but if I listed them all I'd probably go over my word count limit.

What I love most is how multi-passionate Drew is (like me!). She loves pop culture and trivia; she loves food and cookbooks; she loves beauty and fashion; she loves astrology and opening her mind to new things. Oh, and her games closet (which she showed on her first episode) is #goals for me now; I would love a closet that full of board games! But seriously, the fact that this show has given her an outlet to bring out ALL of her passions and interests makes me so happy -- it's like me and my writing.

I love and believe in this show so much that I actually signed up to be an audience member -- TWICE! (And I think with the way they film stuff, I was in 3, possibly 4, episodes.) Not sure if this was completely okay, as I'm Canadian and they only seemed to have American city options -- my conscience told me to write a note where they have the section of "Tell us about yourself", to be honest about where I live ... plus I stopped after the two tapings, just in case. But it was so worth it! If the world wasn't the way it was right now, this is the kind of show I would buy tickets for and fly to New York to see live in person.

Drew is so relatable, and such an inspiration. Taking away the fame and fortune, Drew is who I'd love to continue working towards becoming. Creative. Positive. Generous. Open-minded. Overall: a beautiful soul.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Katie Dawn

I am a young woman from Canada

I am an Aquarius sun, Taurus moon, Capricorn rising

I am a reader, writer, lover of words

I am a multi-passionate individual

I am studying to become a Life and Creativity Coach

I am an open book

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.